We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akaroa on the Beach
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights over christmas, myself, husband and 2 teenage boys. The views were stunning, accommodation was brilliant. We stayed in the Island and Seaview rooms.Seaview Room is open plan leading onto a huge balcony. The kitchen is equipped with everything you would possibly need to cook or entertain. You only need to buy the food. Woke every morning to the sounds of birds chirping. Beautiful. Swam in the lake opposite. Would definately recommend. Ideal for a few families sharing. Only downside - we had this huge expanse of water at our doorstep but no water craft to utilize it with. Would have been handy to have kayaks or small dinghy on hand to use. You can hire them in town but with the water at your doorstep it would be handy to have them at your accommodation.

Room Tip: The Seaview is the centre of the house with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2014

We stayed in the beachside apartment for two nights. The view is just wonderful. The apartment is fine, everything that you need, clean and tidy, with heaters in the rooms and extra blankets. The bed had some of the nicest bed linen I have ever come across in an apartment. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well.
You get your key from a lock box and phone for the combination. The beach is just across the road and the walk into the main parts of Akaroa is lovely - 10 minutes to the first set of shops etc.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KTandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for two nights, in the middle of winter, in SeaView apartment in Akaroa on the Beach. We had a great stay, with the accommodation being perfectly located, really cosy and plenty warm enough. The view from the apartment is world class and the apartment a nice distance to walk into Akaroa for something to eat at one of the great restaurants and cafés that were open even in winter! I would highly recommend Akaroa on the Beach and return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The building is a beachside house split into 4. We stayed in the 'Penthouse'. The beach is a thin ribbon of pebbles covered at high tide on the other side of the road. You have limited parking spaces on a first come, first served and a wide car would easily block others- get there early. One retrieves the key from a coded box and then after two flights you arrive at the Penthouse. On entering you pass the kitchen to the right. There is a hob, microwave and fridge. All washing facilities are on the floor below in a small dedicated room outside the apartment below. The Penthouse has a narrow balcony- less than half the size of the apartment below. There is a portable BBQ on the right of the balcony jammed next to a sun lounger. The balcony is screened with glass- the end pane of the balcony had gone when were were there and I suspect the lounger and BBQ had been used to block off the dangerous end of the balcony. There was a single strip of 'hazard' tape over the gap.

The lounge/bedroom is wholly open plan and there are no curtains or blinds to screen the apartment from the front- this appears to be the norm in Akaroa however it does require judicious actions on alighting in the morning from bed. The main glassed area starts where the small 2 person sofa is positioned and on looking from outside it seems difficult to see the occupants behind the sofa. The small portable TV is in the exposed area and stands to the right of the sofa.The only storage allowed is from wire baskets on the wall in a partially walled separated area behind the bed- it is open at both ends. All the many drawers of the flat are literally crammed with the clothes and the personal effects of the owner.

There is no telephone. We made a call to the owner from the first call box in town when we had a problem with the facilities- which she quickly rectified. The phone was a credit card phone and a £30 charge was made for using a foreign CC- beware!

There is a coin call box further into town by Tourist Information.

The accommodation is right by the site where the UK seized South Island as part of the Empire, and a monument and flag mark the spot.

Akaroa is a pretty little town, (just over a mile walk away past the lighthouse) with a small supermarket. It is set at the base of the outer edge of the caldera that forms the harbour. Penguins in Pohatu and Black Cat's trips to see the Hectors dolphins are the main natural draw. There is an excellent dairy on the other side (15 mins drive) in Barry's Bay with wonderful freshly made cheeses. There are a number of restaurants and bistros but the town is dedicated more for day trade not for evening or night time activities. The community centre has a film show and the museum is well worth seeing, if for nothing else than the amazing French sculpture of a local Maori warlord. The area was the scene of an attempt by the French to seize South Island and the town makes much of their French heritage as their USP however apart from calling the Police Station a "Gendarmarie" and flying the Tricolor (even though France was a Kingdom at that time) there is little trace. A number of French tourists from New Caledonia arrive bemused by the lack of Francophones and can be heard around the town.

The flat has an amazing view towards the mouth of the harbour past the large Norfolk Pines outside and we watched with delight as a Tui (native bird) demolished some fruit of a small tree nearer to us.

The view is the thing.

The lack of contact other than by telephone with the owner is a drawback, especially with no phone installed.

Another slight irritation is the bathroom. The lighting is limited and the choice is blinds down for privacy (plunging the room into some gloom) or blinds up and the neighbours to the rear have a full view towards the toilet!

Akaroa is not a cheap place to stay, though this accommodation's view alone more than justifies its cost. The townspeople are very friendly.

If 1. the bathroom had frosted glass, 2. the flat a telephone, 3. the balcony repaired, 4. some empty storage drawers and 5.a small screen to allow a walk to the kitchen from the bed without being exposed to public view then this would be truly great accommodation. A welcome pack would have been a nice idea.

There is no swimming pool and the Penthouse is just big enough only for a couple. I would suggest that anybody with a child would prefer downstairs with the large terrace and close vicinity to the washing room. Unfortunately the view from downstairs is occluded by bushes, trees, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this place, sight unseen, completely by chance. So glad we did! The location is just off the beaten path but still very close to restaurants, shops, bars, the dolphin cruise, etc. My sister and I stayed in the beachside apartment, which was super comfortable, very tastefully furnished, and had a kitchen fully stocked with everything we needed. Bed was comfy, view from the little back deck was stunning, and we had space for days. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank jessieq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
2.7 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.7 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
#14 of 25 in Akaroa
9 reviews
1.7 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
2.3 km away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa on the Beach

Address: 229 Beach Road, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: €76 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akaroa on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Akaroa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing