We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Village Inn(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Criterion Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Gullies B&B(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Abri(Akaroa)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Waterfront Motels(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
86
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchengorgeous propertybeautiful roseswonderful stayfamily holidaynew zealandlittle touchesfantastic viewssouth islandalisontubgardennzhostdeckfrenchwharf
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The house is grand in scale and furnished with beautiful antiques. Everything is totally useable however and as guests we felt totally at home, welcome and comfortable. The modern bathrooms and kitchen are extremely well appointed and a pleasure to use. One of our favourite features was the light flooding the house all day and the stunning views of Akaroa harbour. I was recovering from a bike accident and being able to rest and recover while still feeling connected to Akaroa was exactly what I needed. I loved sitting on the verandah overlooking the roses and fruit trees and the harbour in the distance. I would love to return perhaps even bring the family and fill all those bedrooms.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hello Marilyn - thanks so much for your review and I'm so pleased the house proved therapeutic for your recovery. the house is in such a lovely position for sun and views - offering privacy but so close to the village too. Hope you can come back one day - five bedrooms and four bathrooms for the family ! : ) Happy travels and thanks for staying. Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Akaroa House is exquisite; a perfect place to escape in luxury and style. The house has a wonderful feeling of history, but the overriding feeling is of home. What a treat when you're far away from your own bed. Every bedroom has a superb view and the covered deck on three sides of the house means you can soak in the view from everywhere outside too... and when you open up the lounge and dining room doors you achieve the perfect Kiwi indoor outdoor flow. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the linen is beautiful, plus there is great provision for summer and winter. The furniture in every room is beautiful, adding to the luxury of the setting. The lounge is comfy, though as a bigger group we found that we spent most of our time outside or sitting at the long dining room table nearer the kitchen - and the all important kettle. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to cook up a storm, but as we were only a few minutes from town we grabbed fish and chips and ate on the deck in the sunshine. Alison was a fabulous host, going out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She even returned a pair of shoes that were left under the bed after our stay. Our experience was all the more fabulous as we held our wedding in the beautiful garden during our stay, but even without that, the trip could only have been enhanced by being there for longer. I cannot recommend Akaroa House highly enough. Next time I'm staying for a week and trying out the French tub!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hello Ruth - oops - not sure how I overlooked responding : ) it was so lovely to meet you - and I'm really pleased the house worked so well for your lovely intimate wedding - your plans for the day sounded lovely and I've loved seeing the photos. Thanks so much for choosing to come back to beautiful Akaroa, and booking Akaroa House - all the way from the UK with your nearest and dearest for your special day. All the very best and kind regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We had a fantastic time at Akaroa house. The photos in the listing don't do the place justice. We were all so impressed when we opened the door and entered this gorgeous property. We enjoyed bbqs on the deck overlooking the picture perfect view of Akaroa. The house was well stocked with kitchenware and all the rooms were clean, tidy and really lovely. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juliette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you Juliette - I'm so pleased you all had a lovely stay - and thanks for choosing Akaroa House and Akaroa Apartment as part of your wedding weekend :) All the very best to you both. Kind Regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

A group of us stayed at Akaroa House for Waitangi Weekend. It was absolutely fantastic and provided everything that we needed. The rooms were really spacious and there were plenty of bathrooms for everyone. Close enough to all of the amenities in the settlement. And a great view from the front verandah. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Glenn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Hello Glenn - thanks so much for your review, and that's great you had a lovely stay. How nice to get all the family together - the house is rather magical and it's lovely that others can enjoy it for special occasions. The views are so special. Happy travels - Kind Regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Very tastefully done and well maintained house. Could see that the owner Alison spares no effort in offering a wonderful experience for the guests. We were a group of 10 and enjoyed this part of our stay the most. The lawn in front of the house was well laid out with some fruit trees and well manicured. My parents were so fascinated by them. The children were very happy setting up their own picnic area sitting under the thousand year old tree. Thank you again Alison for giving my family such a great experience during our last leg in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TYLS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouseAkaroa, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Hello T - thanks so much for your review - what lovely family time, and Akaroa is such a great climate for growing everything - the roses are looking terrific and the fruit trees are such a treat and so productive ! we are so lucky. PS - think the main tree is about 150 years old - certainly a Fabulous Norfolk Pine - visible from so much of the village. All the very best and thanks for staying at Akaroa House with your family - it is an amazing spot. Kind Regards Alison :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews