We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gather a few friends and indulge in pure bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 3 April 2016

With 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms Akaroa House is an experience few have enjoyed. Everything about this beautiful home is amazing. Restored from 2 centuries ago every room of the home speaks of the love and care that has been taken in the restoration, Wa really felt like we had been invited to enjoy the Ruddenklau's family home. So choose carefully a few very good friends and enjoy a few days of bliss.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Oh wow Howard - I was really touched by your review, and so pleased you had a wonderful stay. The house is rather magical - and it is so lovely for guests to savour it's heritage ambience too. Thank you for choosing to stay at Akaroa House. Happy travels and best wishes - Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2016

The house is grand in scale and furnished with beautiful antiques. Everything is totally useable however and as guests we felt totally at home, welcome and comfortable. The modern bathrooms and kitchen are extremely well appointed and a pleasure to use. One of our favourite features was the light flooding the house all day and the stunning views of Akaroa harbour. I was recovering from a bike accident and being able to rest and recover while still feeling connected to Akaroa was exactly what I needed. I loved sitting on the verandah overlooking the roses and fruit trees and the harbour in the distance. I would love to return perhaps even bring the family and fill all those bedrooms.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hello Marilyn - thanks so much for your review and I'm so pleased the house proved therapeutic for your recovery. the house is in such a lovely position for sun and views - offering privacy but so close to the village too. Hope you can come back one day - five bedrooms and four bathrooms for the family ! : ) Happy travels and thanks for staying. Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Akaroa House is exquisite; a perfect place to escape in luxury and style. The house has a wonderful feeling of history, but the overriding feeling is of home. What a treat when you're far away from your own bed. Every bedroom has a superb view and the covered deck on three sides of the house means you can soak in the view from everywhere outside too... and when you open up the lounge and dining room doors you achieve the perfect Kiwi indoor outdoor flow. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the linen is beautiful, plus there is great provision for summer and winter. The furniture in every room is beautiful, adding to the luxury of the setting. The lounge is comfy, though as a bigger group we found that we spent most of our time outside or sitting at the long dining room table nearer the kitchen - and the all important kettle. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to cook up a storm, but as we were only a few minutes from town we grabbed fish and chips and ate on the deck in the sunshine. Alison was a fabulous host, going out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She even returned a pair of shoes that were left under the bed after our stay. Our experience was all the more fabulous as we held our wedding in the beautiful garden during our stay, but even without that, the trip could only have been enhanced by being there for longer. I cannot recommend Akaroa House highly enough. Next time I'm staying for a week and trying out the French tub!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Hello Ruth - oops - not sure how I overlooked responding : ) it was so lovely to meet you - and I'm really pleased the house worked so well for your lovely intimate wedding - your plans for the day sounded lovely and I've loved seeing the photos. Thanks so much for choosing to come back to beautiful Akaroa, and booking Akaroa House - all the way from the UK with your nearest and dearest for your special day. All the very best and kind regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We had a fantastic time at Akaroa house. The photos in the listing don't do the place justice. We were all so impressed when we opened the door and entered this gorgeous property. We enjoyed bbqs on the deck overlooking the picture perfect view of Akaroa. The house was well stocked with kitchenware and all the rooms were clean, tidy and really lovely. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juliette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Thank you Juliette - I'm so pleased you all had a lovely stay - and thanks for choosing Akaroa House and Akaroa Apartment as part of your wedding weekend :) All the very best to you both. Kind Regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

A group of us stayed at Akaroa House for Waitangi Weekend. It was absolutely fantastic and provided everything that we needed. The rooms were really spacious and there were plenty of bathrooms for everyone. Close enough to all of the amenities in the settlement. And a great view from the front verandah. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Glenn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Hello Glenn - thanks so much for your review, and that's great you had a lovely stay. How nice to get all the family together - the house is rather magical and it's lovely that others can enjoy it for special occasions. The views are so special. Happy travels - Kind Regards Alison : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
110 reviews
1.0 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
French Bay House
French Bay House
#11 of 24 in Akaroa
8 reviews
3.4 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: €146 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Stunning sea views and sun aspect from every room. Set in peaceful landscaped grounds and easy stroll into the village. Offering peaceful Bed and Breakfast in two spacious well appointed rooms. The downstairs Garden room with views to the sea too offers a French Tub en-suite. Or the upstairs two bedrooms for two to four adult guests - share the private family bathroom. Please CONTACT US with your requirements - I'm not sure the calendar is up to date! Working on it. Thx Alison :) Both rooms offer private tea and coffee making facilities and own television. Guests can enjoy the inside living area or relax in the grounds or on the verandah - soaking in the restful view. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering up to three guest bedrooms for a maximum of six adult guests. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. Akaroa is best savoured - as many activities to enjoy at a slow Akaroa pace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing