We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a small wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We decided to have our wedding at Akaroa House in Jan 2014. It was a beautiful setting, and the perfect size for our families to stay in, with the ceremony out in the garden. We were superbly taken care of, with everything looking sparkly and shiny. It made our special day perfect, and we would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a more intimate venue with wonderful views and a memorable Akaroa experience for all guests.

Alison and Ross go the extra mile to make sure that everything is perfect, from popping round to check that there are no problems, to going through the garden at the crack of dawn on the morning of the wedding picking up any debris from the windy weather (they probably didn't even notice that someone spotted them!). We couldn't have chosen a better place. Perfection.

Room Tip: All the rooms in Akaroa House are superb.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mightymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thanks so much for your review. We do our very best to make sure stays are special - and of course weddings deserve to be extra special. We like to check that all is OK and it happened that we were in Akaroa to welcome you and your family in person. Having raked the Norfolk pine needles ready for the "big day". It was a very early double check, creeping through the side gate! - I couldn't leave any strays on the lawn!! this summer I'd be out there full time - as the poor tree is shedding flat out!! Happy Anniversary and loved seeing the photos. :) Kind Regards Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2014

We get together with very close friends every six months. Our last Sept 2014 we selected Akaroa House after excellent communication with the owners.
Well what a house, every room and every detail just excellent, topped off with a well stocked gift basket for the 9 of us to share.

What impressed us the most is the attention to detail. How to operate TV and sky, the heating etc etc. All our friends agreed we could and should return each year rather than find a new place.

10/10 is not enough to confirm how much we appreciated not only the home but the caring consideration of the owners who phoned mid weekend to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. We most sincerely recommend this home to all to enjoy and although it rained for our weekend we still enjoyed the view and the garden.

We found a gem of a place that we will use again for very special occasions as well as a time out weekend.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rikijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

OOps - don't know how time has flown to respond to these reviews. Thanks so much and such a compliment to us that I believe you are coming back to Akaroa House next month. That is such a great idea getting together with friends, and Akaroa House is very special for reunions :) Happy summertime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed here for our annual "girls weekend away" and found everything to be just perfect. We had plenty of room, and being 7 women together - plenty of bathrooms for all.
I loved having the fire, sky tv to watch international rugby, and such a beautiful setting to sit and relax. The house is beautifully appointed, with everything we needed.

Room Tip: Floor level room beside the lounge, has the most amazing claw footed bath.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Monksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thanks for that (Sorry - albeit very belated!) We were away in September and then crazy times since!! The house is great for Girl's weekends - plenty of space and the claw foot bath is such a treat. Lovely views from the windows whilst you wallow! and the fire is great for that special winter warmth - along with the heatpumps and underfloor heating - great in all seasons :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We are a group of ladies who take an annual girls trip somewhere in the South Island. This is the 3rd time we have been to Akaroa over 20 years of doing this and this time was a highlight! Akaroa House is beautifully appointed and every detail has been well thought out. Our hostess went out of her way to make us feel welcome and as most of us are from the hospitality or service industry this was much appreciated. There are plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for a group and this spacious home felt warm , comfortable and welcoming. I would happily recommend this property to anyone who loves historical homes and likes a bit of luxury.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you Deb - I was rather nervous with you all coming from a luxury lodge background - it was lovely that you get together - your review is very special. The house is gorgeous and I'm thrilled others enjoy it too for special times :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Tis is such a grt house for any group or family;Its awesome views & garden is is an extra pleasure ..Allisons attention to every detail was evident. We all loved & appreciated the homely warm & spotless presentation of Akaroa House..Thankyou Allison we will be back..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 10pennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you all had a great time - can't believe I've overlooked responding for so long - apologies :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
1.0 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
French Bay House
French Bay House
#11 of 24 in Akaroa
8 reviews
3.4 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: €148 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Stunning sea views and sun aspect from every room. Set in peaceful landscaped grounds and easy stroll into the village. Offering peaceful Bed and Breakfast in two spacious well appointed rooms. The downstairs Garden room with views to the sea too offers a French Tub en-suite. Or the upstairs two bedrooms for two to four adult guests - share the private family bathroom. Please CONTACT US with your requirements - I'm not sure the calendar is up to date! Working on it. Thx Alison :) Both rooms offer private tea and coffee making facilities and own television. Guests can enjoy the inside living area or relax in the grounds or on the verandah - soaking in the restful view. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering up to three guest bedrooms for a maximum of six adult guests. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. Akaroa is best savoured - as many activities to enjoy at a slow Akaroa pace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing