We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Waterfront Motels(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Criterion Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$94
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Abri(Akaroa)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Gullies B&B(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blythcliffe(Akaroa)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Village Inn(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
86
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchengorgeous propertybeautiful roseswonderful stayfamily holidaynew zealandlittle touchesfantastic viewssouth islandcomfortable bedtwo nightsalisontubgardennzhostdeck
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We get together with very close friends every six months. Our last Sept 2014 we selected Akaroa House after excellent communication with the owners.
Well what a house, every room and every detail just excellent, topped off with a well stocked gift basket for the 9 of us to share.

What impressed us the most is the attention to detail. How to operate TV and sky, the heating etc etc. All our friends agreed we could and should return each year rather than find a new place.

10/10 is not enough to confirm how much we appreciated not only the home but the caring consideration of the owners who phoned mid weekend to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. We most sincerely recommend this home to all to enjoy and although it rained for our weekend we still enjoyed the view and the garden.

We found a gem of a place that we will use again for very special occasions as well as a time out weekend.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rikijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

OOps - don't know how time has flown to respond to these reviews. Thanks so much and such a compliment to us that I believe you are coming back to Akaroa House next month. That is such a great idea getting together with friends, and Akaroa House is very special for reunions :) Happy summertime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed here for our annual "girls weekend away" and found everything to be just perfect. We had plenty of room, and being 7 women together - plenty of bathrooms for all.
I loved having the fire, sky tv to watch international rugby, and such a beautiful setting to sit and relax. The house is beautifully appointed, with everything we needed.

Room Tip: Floor level room beside the lounge, has the most amazing claw footed bath.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Monksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thanks for that (Sorry - albeit very belated!) We were away in September and then crazy times since!! The house is great for Girl's weekends - plenty of space and the claw foot bath is such a treat. Lovely views from the windows whilst you wallow! and the fire is great for that special winter warmth - along with the heatpumps and underfloor heating - great in all seasons :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We are a group of ladies who take an annual girls trip somewhere in the South Island. This is the 3rd time we have been to Akaroa over 20 years of doing this and this time was a highlight! Akaroa House is beautifully appointed and every detail has been well thought out. Our hostess went out of her way to make us feel welcome and as most of us are from the hospitality or service industry this was much appreciated. There are plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for a group and this spacious home felt warm , comfortable and welcoming. I would happily recommend this property to anyone who loves historical homes and likes a bit of luxury.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you Deb - I was rather nervous with you all coming from a luxury lodge background - it was lovely that you get together - your review is very special. The house is gorgeous and I'm thrilled others enjoy it too for special times :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Tis is such a grt house for any group or family;Its awesome views & garden is is an extra pleasure ..Allisons attention to every detail was evident. We all loved & appreciated the homely warm & spotless presentation of Akaroa House..Thankyou Allison we will be back..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 10pennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you so much for your review and so pleased you all had a great time - can't believe I've overlooked responding for so long - apologies :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Celebrated a family occasion here in August and had the most fantastic time- the house is absolutely gorgeous and very well decorated. Everything we needed was in the house so it felt very comfortable and welcoming. Even the little things that had been pre-organised eg. setting the fire, made such a difference. House is in a great location, with a 2 minute walk down to the cafes/shops etc. Highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Hello Beth - that was such a lovely idea meeting up with your family as a holiday break for all :) The heat pumps are great to boost the temperature - but there's something special about the real flames of the log-burner for winter warmth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews