We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of L'Hotel Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

L'Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days, from 11am till close (2016). We are open for Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday from 9am till 11am. L'hotel is situated right on the water's edge, with panoramic harbour views. L'hotel has an extensive menu using fresh local ingredients, and also catering for food intolerance's, with gluten free options on the menu. Perfect place to meet friends and family for a lively atmosphere and great food and wine.L'hotel has a fully licensed bar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Good spot to stop in for a drink, friendly and helpfully and made me a Irish coffee once they had closed the coffee machine.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank blairm180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Called in for 2 drinks, service always very good. Needed something to snack on so got the calamari, best calamari I have had in a while.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jamiep118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We're Kiwis and foodies so when we go out we do rate a place on our own scale.
It's so disappointing when the bulk of the eateries on offer are all very average.
L'Hotels food was definitely average and overpriced. Perhaps being a tourist destination with the huge numbers going thru mean they are all ok with average?
We had the seafood platter for 2 at $45 we thought it would be big and loaded. Not to be, all the deep fried food was flavourless and minimal. The fresh gurnard was a winner and a star. We priced the platter at $18 so the $45 charge is extremely excessive.
Then we shared the burger and how disappointing thks was. For $22 you don't want a buy in the box frozen meat pattie. It was leaking water, spongey and boiled.
Come on NZ, it's not hard to make good food. Going the easy route means bad reviews like this. You have a lot of customers, give them some respect by producing edible food.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank MissYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a table outside under an umbrella. Staff were friendly and efficient. We both had the fish and chips which was absolutely delicious! Perfect portion size, lovely french fries and small salad. Would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank M1312PNsuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

My husband and I decided to grab dinner here on a whim after taking a walk around Akaroa, and I'm glad we did. The pizza was so excellent, we decided to eat here our second night in Akaroa as well. Food was great both times, and we were happy to have good food a rather reasonable price (we ordered the special both nights). It's a great place to eat while looking at the water, and the staff was very friendly!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ehoisington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing