We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip ”
Review of Akaroa Dolphins

Akaroa Dolphins
Ranked #1 of 29 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Let our crew, including our dolphin spotting dogs, take you on a journey of discovery. Enjoy the fascinating history and amazing wildlife of Banks Peninsula aboard our stylish vessels; 'Into the Blue' and 'Akaroa Dolphin'. Highlights of our cruises include the rare Hector's dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, penguins, seabirds, spectacular sea caves and volcanic formations. We give you an intimate and luxurious experience, starting with home baking and complimentary drinks, including local award-winning wine, beer and soft drink when you step aboard. Our 100% locally owned and operated team will show you the Peninsula like only a local can. Experience why we’re winners of the Champion Canterbury Business Award for Tourism in 2015, Rankers winner of Dolphin Watching Experience in 2013, and ranked Number 1 on TripAdvisor for Boat Tours in New Zealand. Our track record for offering an unforgettable nature cruise experience speaks for itself.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful day and really friendly crew with great commentary throughout the trip. nice surprise to get a comp beer and biscuit.

Thank blairm180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks so much, Blair!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin dog"
in 58 reviews
"cookies"
in 235 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 71 reviews
"complimentary drinks"
in 27 reviews
"fur seals"
in 100 reviews
"great trip"
in 87 reviews
"home baking"
in 14 reviews
"sea birds"
in 73 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 29 reviews
"saw seals"
in 45 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 28 reviews
"salmon farm"
in 19 reviews
"great commentary"
in 32 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 36 reviews
"new zealand"
in 76 reviews
"a nice touch"
in 20 reviews
"family run"
in 17 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Very nice excursion.. We could see dolphins, little blue penguins, seals, albatros....sadly my camera wasn't fast, good enough... So mainly water instead of the penguins

Thank Franck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Franck. If you would like to email us at cruise@akaroadolphins.co.nz I will happily send you some photos of the wildlife :)

Warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this trip for all ages. Beautiful scenic cruise on catamaran from Akaroa out to the Pacific. Interesting narration of history of area and we had plenty of time seeing the Hector dolphins. Also fur seals and amazing volcanic landscapes. Complimentary drinks and a cookie. Plus the delightful dolphin spotting dog on board! Really good family run operation.

Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to come with us, Eleanor! It was our pleasure being able to share the harbour and history with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful morning on the water in Akaroa. Bainsey and Desiree ensured our time in Akaroa was memorable and they did everything to find dolphins, penguins, seals and birds for us. It was a relaxed but informative trip. Really wonderful!

Thank MJM10257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you!! Loved hearing that it was an informative yet relaxed trip. Please come back and visit us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were welcomed aboard by the friendly crew and given our complimentary drink as we left the harbour. During the trip we learnt some of the local history, saw dolphins, penguins, seals and numerous sea birds. The colours of the landscape were accentuated by the setting sun. A trip worth taking!

Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thrilled to hear Jo - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Dolphins also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing