We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Be. Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$72
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
30 Arundel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Australia Hotel Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Daly View Bed & Breakfast(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
229
92
14
8
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
92
14
8
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homedaily activitiesbeach volleyballactivities organisednight managergreat courtyardsmaller hostelnew friendsgreat activitiesgreat atmospherelong termfelt like hometwo monthsstayed longeroutside areatrain stationperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

The Owner and staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds comfy.
Only there for night, but would definitely stay again if I'm doing a quick trip up to Perth. Close to everything and a good price.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

G'day Dan,
Nice to meet you on Saturday and thanks for staying and thanks for your nice review.
Hope you enjoyed the gig Saturday night :)
Take care and pop back anytime.
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I loved to stay there for 2 Weeks. Good People and located to all in Fremantle things to do.
Thanks very mutch to Tasha and Vaughan.
If im Back in Fremantle, definitly wanna join your hostel again. :-)
Daniel

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hey Daniel,
Thanks so much for staying. It really was nice to meet you. You're a great guy and Tasha and I loved having you here.
I hope you're settling back into that cold .... I think I'll just go for a dip in the warm ocean .... Ha!
Take care,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

I really enjoyed my stay at Pirates. It's a small hostel where you get to know everybody fast. I was only gonna stay there one day but ended up spending one week there. Its located perfectly in Fremantle. The crew is really nice and they arrange different activities each day - surfing, paddleboarding, beach volley etc. Would definately reccomend!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank lassebn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hey Lasse, It was great having you here. Thanks for a great couple of days surfing. I totally enjoyed being out in the water with you and the crew :) Have a great time over east and keep up with the surfing! I'll look for you in the future surf comps...Ha!
Take care,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

I got back to Pirates after 10 years and it felt like coming home. Pirates has been upgraded over the years but somehow never lost its spirit. Great location. Great people. Great atmosphere. Great time. Great to be back in another 10 years.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

G'day Helmut. It's always special having someone return from so long ago. And also great to hear that you still found that famous Pirates Spirit still going strong :) Hopefully I was looking okay since the 10 years you saw me last, maybe not upgraded though ...Ha!
Take care and thanks so much for coming back.
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Second stay at Pirates in one year: done! At the end of my six weeks here, this cozy bubble of happiness and love has been promoted to 'family away from home'. The cuddliest hostel in the world...I'm already thinking about a round 3!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank KikaLup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Kika ! You're a gem! We'll always be your family away from home :)
We're definitely looking forward to seeing you again.
I hope all is going well back home.
Take care and thanks,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews