We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hostel is right in the centre of town, and is very cute and clean. Our double room was a wonderful and comfortable size, and we had our own balcony which looked out at Staubbach Waterfall as well. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the kitchen facilities and laundry facilities of the hostel were also very good. Our stay at the Valley Hostel was very comfortable and would definitley recommend staying here to others visiting Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    93
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
62
99
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

They made me and my friend pay for four people when it was just the two of us. There was an error with the booking and they treated us poorly over the error. We were polite and friendly and not treated the same in return... They make you wear these cheap flip flops that smell terrible and do not get cleaned after they are worn. We did not sleep well because the room we were put it was right next to the common area and people liked to stay up late and be loud. Overall we were treated poorly and had a bad experience.. We have been to several hostels and this was the worst...

Room Tip: Get a room away from the common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This facility is convenient and a wonderful value for an idyllic location and views. However, it is still a hostel with some of the downside that comes with the territory. For example, we shared a balcony with a young couple who went out on it late at night when we were asleep, talked loudly and woke us up. I had to ask them (in sign language, since we didn't share a spoken language) to please stop. Also, strong odors permeated the floor at 9:30pm when someone was frying cabbage and garlic in the kitchen across the hall from our room.
To be fair, we were probably the oldest visitors there. Just understand that while the place is a bargain and beautifully situated, there is a potential down side.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorsyemptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the alps. Just up from Interlaken, Lauterbrunnen is a tiny little town in the foothills of the beautiful snow covered alps. THe Valley Hostel was a perfect, relaxing place to stay. A very cute hostel with nice little rooms with porches that looked out on the train station and the alps. A nice kitchen with supplies and a fridge, and a very nice dining area. Also a nice little yard with lawn chairs and tables to sit at. Very homey, everyone was to take off their shoes and wear the hostel slippers around inside. Communal bathrooms with nice hot showers. Great place to stay and meet people, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studenttraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I only stayed in switzerland for 4 nights and chose the perfect place and location.
I had just come from England where I did the coast to coast walk (google it in your spare time if interested) but pretty much I had been walking for 13 days straight average 25km a day and I needed to do nothing, this was my relaxation part of my holiday. I stayed in a private room with a friend, at an average price (think 50CHF each a night but you wont get cheaper in this town). shared bathroom and kitchen facilities, always cleaned. The views from the rooms are to die for.

There is pleanty to see and do In Lauterbrunnen and Interlaken, just ask the friendly staff. Naturally the more money you have the more extreme activities you can do but if you have a tight budget there is pleanty of hiking trails or you could hire a bike. Just for the record I went in summer time so I didnt get into skiing etc.. I'm sure its a whole new world there in winter time. Anyway this is a perfect place to stay and I will be back. (Stefan - I'am the guy who gave you the Vietnam notes for your collection, thanks again!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.3 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
576 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
1.4 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Property: Valley Hostel
Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing