We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fado experience”
Review of Fado com Historia

Fado com Historia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 'Fado com Historia' is a unique Fado Show in Tavira - join us to see and listen to live Fado Music, in an emblematic location. You can attend to this voice and guitar performance with continuos shows along the day. Fado is Portuguese but is also UNESCO's 'Intangible Heritage of Humanity', reflecting Portuguese's people and history. Timetable - Fado Music - Live Shows: Monday to Saturday - 12:15p.m./ 3:15p.m. / 5:15p.m.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Found this gem in an alley in the old town of Tavira.
My first time experiencing the Fado culture deeply loved by the Portuguese.
The show was divided into two parts :
***A history lesson on Fado- very interesting
***Live performance - a beautiful singer and two talented musicians
I'm sold-!!
Highly recommended

Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, General Manager at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"short film"
in 22 reviews
"live performance"
in 34 reviews
"portuguese guitar"
in 9 reviews
"talented musicians"
in 7 reviews
"female singer"
in 4 reviews
"cultural heritage"
in 3 reviews
"small room"
in 3 reviews
"great introduction"
in 6 reviews
"music style"
in 2 reviews
"cultural music"
in 2 reviews
"art form"
in 2 reviews
"unique opportunity"
in 2 reviews
"video presentation"
in 3 reviews
"takes place"
in 2 reviews
"excellent singer"
in 2 reviews
"portuguese style"
in 2 reviews
"by accident"
in 4 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Fado show. The hosts were so knowledgeable and friendly and warmly welcomed us with our baby and young daughter. Many thanks

Thank JOBEMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Proprietário at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This was a great experience. I was told to go to a fado show while in Portugal and I was really worried I would get sucked into some tourist trap. This place was not that! The people who run it are very passionate about fado and it shines through in their music. It cost 8 euros and the program was about 45 minutes. It starts with a brief documentary and then the musicians start. They do a good job of giving enough explanation about the piece without it feeling like a lecture. I highly recommend.

Thank mjm341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Manager at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Do not leave Tavira without attending one of the performances at the Fado History Museum. It is an absolute must. The performance is short but absolutely enchanting. There were 2 small children there who could not take their eyes off the fingers of the guitarists, especially the traditional Portuguese guitar. The singing reached right into my heart! A follow up with port, almonds and figs lent the evening the perfect ending. Only 8 euros! Money very well spent. Thank you!

Thank Wrt4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Gerente at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I knew very little about this music but the show has a short film at the beginning showing how Fado music started and some of the famous names who have sang.
This was followed by a live performance by the two guitar players and the singer.
Marvellous

Thank intercity235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Gerente at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you.i

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fado com Historia also viewed

 

Been to Fado com Historia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing