We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fado experience”
Review of Fado com Historia

Fado com Historia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9.36*
and up
Fado com História
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Fado Com Historia, is a Touristical Attraction in Tavira. Located in the historical area of ​​the beautiful city of Tavira, right next to Misericordia Church, there's 'Fado com Historia' auditorium in which we perform daily fado shows Monday to Saturday. It is a stylish place with capacity for over 40 people, equipped with a video system and a real Fado atmosphere. Fado music is UNESCO's Intangible Heritage of Humanity since 2011. In this venue you can enjoy a 45 minute live show with Portuguese Guitar, Classical Guitar and Voice, performing some of the most representative Fados, chosen from our vast repertoire, and adapted to the audience. We have also 'merchandise' that the visitor can acquire a multimedia presentation that illustrates some of the most emblematic moments and images of Fado Music. The Show includes a video +Live Concert + Port Wine Tasting Timetable - Monday to Saturday - 12:15p.m./ 3:15p.m. / 5:15p.m. Closed daily: July 28th to September 3rd.Only open on Saturdays
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Found this gem in an alley in the old town of Tavira.
My first time experiencing the Fado culture deeply loved by the Portuguese.
The show was divided into two parts :
***A history lesson on Fado- very interesting
***Live performance - a beautiful singer and two talented musicians
I'm sold-!!
Highly recommended

Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, General Manager at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"short film"
in 24 reviews
"live performance"
in 38 reviews
"portuguese guitar"
in 12 reviews
"talented musicians"
in 8 reviews
"cultural heritage"
in 5 reviews
"female singer"
in 4 reviews
"guitar playing"
in 4 reviews
"great introduction"
in 7 reviews
"visit portugal"
in 3 reviews
"small room"
in 3 reviews
"excellent musicians"
in 3 reviews
"local culture"
in 2 reviews
"music style"
in 2 reviews
"cultural music"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful singing"
in 2 reviews
"introductory film"
in 2 reviews
"art form"
in 2 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Fado show. The hosts were so knowledgeable and friendly and warmly welcomed us with our baby and young daughter. Many thanks

Thank JOBEMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Proprietário at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This was a great experience. I was told to go to a fado show while in Portugal and I was really worried I would get sucked into some tourist trap. This place was not that! The people who run it are very passionate about fado and it shines through in their music. It cost 8 euros and the program was about 45 minutes. It starts with a brief documentary and then the musicians start. They do a good job of giving enough explanation about the piece without it feeling like a lecture. I highly recommend.

Thank mjm341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Manager at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Do not leave Tavira without attending one of the performances at the Fado History Museum. It is an absolute must. The performance is short but absolutely enchanting. There were 2 small children there who could not take their eyes off the fingers of the guitarists, especially the traditional Portuguese guitar. The singing reached right into my heart! A follow up with port, almonds and figs lent the evening the perfect ending. Only 8 euros! Money very well spent. Thank you!

Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Gerente at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I knew very little about this music but the show has a short film at the beginning showing how Fado music started and some of the famous names who have sang.
This was followed by a live performance by the two guitar players and the singer.
Marvellous

Thank intercity235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgiliolanca, Gerente at Fado com Historia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you.i

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fado com Historia also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Fado com Historia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing