We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Expect Too Much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Axis Ponte de Lima Golf Resort-Ponte do lima
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This could be a great Golf Hotel surrounded by an amazing green park and conditions to be a good bet on rest and relax turism. Could be. But It's not. It's just an average/poor Hotel that tries to sell what it is not. Great to have a sleep and follow your way in the next morning. Beware that cell phone coverage inside the rooms is almost 0% (strange), construction, walls, materials are from poor quality which means that privacy is also, more or less, none. If someone talks in the room next to yours or even in others you will ear them as is they were in your bedroom and if a car passes on the road... it will wake you up, if someone goes for a bath it will be like if it was on your bedroom. Prices are over rated. Breakfast it's regular, room cleaness is regular, services are regular.
They also need to put more signs on the road. You could easilly go lost trying to find the Hotel. You are looking for Axis Hotel but you will only see Hotel do Golfe. :(

Room Tip: Choose a Room far from the Elevator, 2nd floor and not for the side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comerbeberlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2014

Avoid this at all cost. Bed terrible, no food available on Sundays. I have had far better room at 2 star hotels. No way you can call this place a hotel. Feel like I am at camp. Internet drops out and cell phone coverage really poor. If you are here on business, stay at work and sleep at your desk. Truly sucks

Room Tip: Go elseware! Sleep under the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Great welcome by Claudia, room spot on, very clean, quiet and with nice views.
Staff very helpfull. Excellent breakfast with great choice.
Really don't understand some of the previous reviews.
I'll recommend and I'll be back.
Thanks
Room 209 14th September 2014

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaspa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a long weekend located in the surroundings of Ponte de Lima. We booked a double room with wifi. The first room we were given was dirty with black hair in the bathroom, floors and on the bed. We asked the receptionist to solve this problem and she arrived to our room with a spay and cloth willing to clean away all hair. After a long discussion over the fact that her cloth wouldn't solve the problem and that we needed a new and clean room she sent us to another room (118) down the hall. This room is a twin room located in front of a wall so no natural sun comes in and from the swimming pool people can see inside the room.
It had cigarette burns on the floor, the spring mattresses are uncomfortable and left me with a back pain for the entire stay. The twin beds split and one night I woke up on the floor. The shower screen is useless and the water from the shower floods the bathroom. There is a gap between the bath tube and window that leaves a humidity smell in the bathroom. There is no mobile phone coverage or internet coverage in the room, to make a phone call I had to come outside. All these complaints were addressed to the receptionist and her response was "there is nothing I can do about it", it was sunday late night and we felt hopeless.
In general the hotel looks old and tired, the breakfast is ordinary and the offer on juices is poor (only have concentrated juice that tastes like water from washing the juice container), the only good thing are the croissants. The breakfast room is noisy, the staff bangs the plates and silverware and from the breakfast room you can ear everything that is happening in the kitchen in loud bangs.
We did a formal complaint with management and I DO NOT recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: choose rooms with a front view. Room 118 is a bunker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berget_Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is a bunker. As architecture and as mentality. Seems that I have missed some reviews that were quite foretelling.

The location is not that bad if you have a car, about 5 minutes drive from Ponte de Lima. This is ok. When you enter the complex is not very clear where is the hotel and we drove to the golf club. Not very impressive. The whole thing looks like a communist politbureau office from the 60's. Wants to be cosy, but is cold.

The hotel is a cement building with a 60's touch. It seems to have gone through some remodeling in the last years, designed to soften it, but it still has a very ugly look. Very long corridors with taped carpets, with cheap motion detection lamps that don't activate properly, with a reception/bar where the noise of the fridge and the sounds of people washing loudly dishes in the kitchen overwhelms the lonely receptionist.

Cleaness = 0. First impression of bathroom: hairs, black. When we called the reception the lady came with a piece of paper and tried to clean it. Another hair on the bed and she just threw it on the floor hoping it would disappear. Axis magic! We changed the room and then we lost the will to fight bad service.

Bathroom was smelling of fresh paint, probably because they have to paint it often, because is badly designed and water falls from the back and inundates everything.

TV had 5 channels (2 RTL in german) and the option to pay 5 euro/movie.

The bed was horrible, not really a double bed, but 2 singles, with bad springs. In our part you can hear some noise from the pool stereo system and next room kids.

There was no internet signal, even though the internet was free (room 114, 118). We were asked to use the lobby. Lol. In 118 we had no Gsm service either. This is not an underground bunker.

There is free parking.

The breakfast is cheap, orange juice of worst quality ever. Everything is so noisy, you get up and until you drink your coffee you want to wake up in a quiet atmosphere, but you can hear everything from the kitchen. Nothing fancy.

They are not even trying to get level with their 3 stars, and I'll never go back.

Room Tip: No internet and GSM signal in the back rooms (room 118).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponte de Lima
2 km away
Inlima Hotel & Spa
Inlima Hotel & Spa
#2 of 6 in Ponte de Lima
143 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Imperio do Norte
Hotel Imperio do Norte
#1 of 6 in Ponte de Lima
60 reviews
12.6 km away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
438 reviews
6.3 km away
Paco de Calheiros
Paco de Calheiros
#6 of 6 in Ponte de Lima
41 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Paco de Vitorino
Hotel Paco de Vitorino
#4 of 6 in Ponte de Lima
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axis Ponte de Lima Golf Resort-Ponte do lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axis Ponte de Lima Golf Resort-Ponte do lima

Address: Quinta de Pias - Fornelos, Ponte de Lima 4990-620, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Ponte de Lima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ponte de Lima
Price Range: €47 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Axis Ponte de Lima Golf Resort-Ponte do lima 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Axis Ponte de Lima Golf Resort-Ponte do lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing