We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has to be one of the best holiday cottages we...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lily Cottage

Comfortable lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable lounge
Comfortable Lounge with LCD TV Fully fitted Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Comfortable lounge
Comfortable Lounge with LCD TV
Fully fitted Kitchen
Bathroom
Ponte de Lima
Ferry boat from Caminha to Northern Spain
Ponte de Lima
The bridge at Ponte de Lima
Bedroom 2
Lounge
Estela Golf Course
Beach at Amorosa
The main Square at Viana do Castelo
View of the River Lima from the bridge at Ponte de Lima
Lillies in the garden
Terrace
Bathroom
Terrace
Master bedroom
Hand painted tiles in the lounge
Terrace
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ponte de Lima, Viana do Castelo District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ColinRS03...
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Has to be one of the best holiday cottages we have rented”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It's perfect position, halfway up a hill on the outskirts of a small village, Vittorino de Paes, about 10 minutes drive from Ponte de Lima along with its cleanliness and offered facilities has to make this one of the best cottages we have ever rented (we have rented throughout Europe, Australia and the USA)! The owner could not have been more helpful and offered lots of useful advice of where to go and what to see. I just cannot say too much in its favour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth...
sydney australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone cottage in peaceful rural setting with gorgeous views”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Well located for exploring the Minho region, whisper quiet in a wonderful green rural setting, yet with a supermarket near by, colorful garden with roses in bloom, this was a perfect stop. The cottage is roomy, well appointed and full of character ( the stone window seat in the front room really captures the morning sun and was my personal favorite. ). We would certainly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucketlis...
Keighley UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful cosy cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour of Northern Portugal for 10 nights. Unfortunately we had pretty awful weather some of the time we were here, however David the owner made sure we had an adequate supply of logs for the log burning stove so we were cosy. The cottage is a bit of a drive to get anywhere and the first time you arrive you wonder where on earth you are but the directions are good and we found it without problem. There is an extremely useful shop less than 2 kilometres away so that was brilliant. The photos of the cottage do not do it justice it is much larger than it appears. The beds and furniture are all comfortable and everything you need it provided. We did a side trip to Porto which was superb by leaving our car at Barracellos station (plenty of free parking) and catching the train to Porto with a couple of small back packs. Train travel is extremely cheap in Portugal especially if you are over 65 - just show passport. We stayed overnight in Porto and came back on the following evening train about 1hours 15mins. If you don't mind not having restaurants on your doorstep, like walking and peace and quiet this is the place for you.
Outside is a real suntrap if you get the sun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside terrace and views
Liked least: 2nd bedroom dark if you need to use it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Your kind review is very much appreciated
It's a pity the weather was not so good, as May can be really nice in the North of Portugal, however, I'm pleased to know you found Lily Cottage to be comfortable and in the location you enjoyed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountcasi...
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Lilly Cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We had a lovely two week stay at Lily Cottage in June 2012. It is extreemly well thought out with everything you need.
The views are fantastic and it is easy to get around to visit the area.
Ponte de Lima is a lovely little town with plenty of places to eat.We also spent time in Viana do Castelo which had a medieval market/festival when we visited - lots of photos.
The market in Barcelos was very good too - quite an experience . The owner was there to meet us on arrival and was extreemly helpful with advice on where to visit and eat - he also pointed us in the right direction for advice on buying vintage port. He also let us help ourselves to the lemons off the trees in the garden for our G & T's!
We liked it so much we are returning again in 2013!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The views, peace and Tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2013
Thanks for your nice review and even more thanks for booking again for 2013, we'll make certain there are plenty of lemons on the trees for your G & T's!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation of cottage
Liked least: Parking my clumsy motor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Thank you for the review,you certainly got to see lots of interesting places during your stay especially the Port Houses in Oporto!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing