We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
130
86
20
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
86
20
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews board games paid euros per night amazing views breakfast room great attention to detail cocktail bar lower town shuttle bus overlooking the sea perfect hotel small room small bag hotel is located old fortress hot water excellent stay lovely terrace
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Hotel Bastione Malvasia is furthest in the unique city of Monemvasia. Our room, number 8, was a tower room with a large balcony and an unparalleled view of Monemvasia and across the sea. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and very beautiful. The nice breakfast was served in a nice breakfast room.
At the hotel's entrance there was a terrace with table and chairs where you could take a frappe or a glass of wine and enjoy beautiful views.

To get to the hotel you have to pull out the bags a fairly long stretch of uneven cobblestone streets. It is an advantage if you do not have that heavy packing and you have easy walking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

At the beginning of September my husband surprised me for our wedding anniversary and took me for three days to the beautiful Monemvasia. We stayed at the Bastione Malvasia, which is a magnificent picturesque hotel.

We stayed in a superior double room with a balcony....a balcony with a million dollar view….the balcony was worth the stay for itself.

The hotel is at the end of the castle. The area is calm, quiet, relaxing…ideal for couples! It has a great café overlooking the sea.

The room is more traditional with a fireplace for the winter and wood all around. It was clean and spacious for the rooms in the area.

Breakfast has not a big variety but includes delicious, traditional food from the area of Mani !

I must point out that the place is made for couples that want to relax, not for families especially with small kids (and I know because I have two!!). The parking is difficult because you leave you car far away and have to walk all the way up. But the castle, its beauty and this lovely hotel deserve all the way up !!!

Room Tip: room with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RANATHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

From the beginning the owner of the hotel made us feel welcome into his palace. It was surreal to be atop the tiled balconies and glistening water with such good service at our fingertips. The concierge was available as we needed it and willing to help us in any way we needed him to. I highly recommend the treatment and the care you'll receive here. The rooms are nothing short of making you feel like you're in a fairytale. Enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony, if possible. Otherwise the window views will be great, too!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was a unique experience. Our room backed up to the trail that ran around back if lower town.
The hotel is the last one on this island/rock so very private & quiet. Our room had a fantastic view of the sea
The hotel staff was personal & very helpful answering our questions concerning things to see & do plus restaurants
The breakfast was superb each morning with freshly made items.
We would recommend this for singles, couples, & families.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Monemvasia is one of the most unique places I’ve ever been and this hotel just makes the experience more amazing.
Friendly staff, big rooms, UNREAL view over the sea, private cocktail bar, and seating area looking over the town and sea.

Words can’t express how much I loved this place and can’t wait to return

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews