We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Go East – Private 1 Day Trip to Russian Border
4

Book in advance
from
US$238.28
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Narva Alexander's Cathedral
from US$238.28
More Info
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
24
23
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
23
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2019

The Alexander Cathedral stands out as the main building in central Narva. Built in honour of Alexander II, a Russian Emperor. A typical Lutheran cathedral. Its bell tower looks modern because it has only been recently restored in 2008 after being totally destroyed in WWII. Worth a looksee.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank GRAHAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

Make sure you ask reception to show you their unique video installation and after that definitely go straight to the top of the bell tower for some magnificent views of Narva.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank 111dmitrijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Very interesting old church that needs restoration. It also serves as a museum has a good viewing place.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Watch from the distance. Actually this building is uncured and closed. One can discern that 20 may be more years ago some improvement works were performed, but now all the wooden platforms and stairs are rotten and even stone stairs are halfway collapsed.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Martins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We walked around the outside of this immense, octagonal church which was built from 1881-1884. It’s a magnificent and beautiful white building. The hexagonal cathedral hall awaits restoration but it had a stark beauty and untouched charm. It was an emotional moment for me when I thought of my Estonian family history with this cathedral which I found overwhelming. There is a lady running a shop but there are no other facilities. We came here in 2013 but the cathedral wasn’t opened so we were so pleased to be able to go inside this time. We hope it gets restored as we want to come back at again.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank royandjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews