We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Go East – Private 1 Day Trip to Russian Border
4

Book in advance
from
US$238.28
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Narva Alexander's Cathedral
from US$238.28
More Info
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
24
23
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
23
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Very interesting old church that needs restoration. It also serves as a museum has a good viewing place.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Watch from the distance. Actually this building is uncured and closed. One can discern that 20 may be more years ago some improvement works were performed, but now all the wooden platforms and stairs are rotten and even stone stairs are halfway collapsed.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Martins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We walked around the outside of this immense, octagonal church which was built from 1881-1884. It’s a magnificent and beautiful white building. The hexagonal cathedral hall awaits restoration but it had a stark beauty and untouched charm. It was an emotional moment for me when I thought of my Estonian family history with this cathedral which I found overwhelming. There is a lady running a shop but there are no other facilities. We came here in 2013 but the cathedral wasn’t opened so we were so pleased to be able to go inside this time. We hope it gets restored as we want to come back at again.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank royandjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Desperate need of restoration. Good to check the local architecture. Seems some elderly women are interested in selling small things from the church to tourists. Not much to visit in Narva. Thus tourists could buy souvenirs especially religious ones there.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Hotelz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Although beautiful and majestic, the inner side will disappoint some visitors. The place is quite dull and seems run down. It perspires authenticity though and hosts a decent museum on the first floor. Do not expect baroque decorations, this is as raw as a cathedral can get. I am still puzzled at why the lady running the shop had a NATO flag on her desk though...

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Cimmerianbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews