We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing uncomfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portoss Guest House
Ranked #16 of 22 Ventspils B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We are a family of five and ordered a room for the family. I still don't know how they managed to squeeze so many beds in such a small space. The room felt claustrophobic and very unpleasant. The bathroom was also incredibly small and we needed to put a towel over the mat as it was so dirty you would have dirtied you feet after showering. The only redeeming features was the pleasantness so the owners, although we were locked out before 11 for which they were sorry. The other good thing was the breakfast that was enjoyable. I would certainly recommend visiting Ventspils but avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a family room unless you are a sardine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

If you want to feel like at the grandma choose Portoss. This is wooden house not far form the sea with very attentive owners. They offer good breakfast, free parking in the closed yard and the Wi-Fi. There could be some problems with the Wi-Fi if your room will be in the corner of the house (far from the rooter).

Room Tip: If you need good Wi-Fi signal choose room close to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This guest house, former German villa and even clinic, is in a very good location in quiet street in between beach and city center. Though it has not so much rooms and they are far from luxury, house keepers (family) provided with all the amenities from fridge to electric kettle. Breakfast is really home-made (pancakes!). And during the meal house lady can tell you all the history of this house, which is a history of Latvia too. So I prefer this not convenient hotel instead of chain one with all the well-known routine.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vaidas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week. The price/value was excellent. The couple that owns and runs it were so sweet and she made a family breakfast every morning. All great.

Room was small but normal. Very friendly and a great value.

Americans coming here should be ready for no air conditioning and bathrooms the size of a cruise ship. All normal in Europe but not at all like the USA

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This small guest house is located ~800m from see. Owners are friendly. What I liked that they liked pets and dogs are allowed as this time we traveled with small pekingese. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast really good (we agreed about pancakes at the evening :)). Good parking place for car. I only didn't enjoy the smell of whole hotel. But this wasn't luxury hotel but only quite okey guest house!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LauraLapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventspils hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel of the Olympic Centre Ventspils
0.7 km away
Hotel Raibie Logi
Hotel Raibie Logi
#1 of 7 in Ventspils
63 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Juras Brize
Hotel Juras Brize
#2 of 7 in Ventspils
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Guest House Spicite
Guest House Spicite
#8 of 22 in Ventspils
6 reviews
0 km away
SPA Hotel Usma
SPA Hotel Usma
#3 of 7 in Ventspils
14 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
Dzirkali
#14 of 22 in Ventspils
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portoss Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portoss Guest House

Address: Mednu iela 4, Ventspils 3601, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Kurzeme Region > Ventspils
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ventspils
Price Range: €41 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portoss Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing