We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the old town in a historic building - nice staff, but bad breakfast”
Review of Ekes Konvents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekes Konvents
Ranked #4 of 69 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Ekes Konvents is a nice small hotel and with historic flair opposite of the St Petri church in the middle of the old town. It is not suited for disabled people because of its steep staircase (no elevator). It's a perfect location to visit the old town, but attention, there are in summer many street musicians playing until midnight, so street orientated rooms can be sometimes noisy.
The breakfast is disappointing, it must be taken outside the hotel in a nearby restaurant, some bad industrial products, breakfast room to small, personal not able to manage afflux of people. We recommand to take breakfast in some of the nearby cafes which is much more conveniant.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

The hotel is set in a very old building right in the heart of the old town by St Peters Church. The central market, bars and sights are within easy walking distance. The rooms are small, but clean. The desk clerks were ok and speak good English, but are not overly helpful.
There have no umbrellas, no coffee, no breakfast under the roof (you must go to different place to eat some Soviet-style and really bad breakfast).
And finally: t's completely impossible to sleep in this hotel trough the night.

Room Tip: No elevator, no darkening curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vilve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to love this charming converted convent but... well fortunately I travel with an eye mask as well as industrial-strength earplugs... but even those earplugs couldn't drown out a busker who played amplified music right outside until 2330 or a noisy bunch of athletes parading by outside before 0600. It also seems unfathomable the hotel doesn't have blackout curtains as the room is filled with light all night long. Aside from that, the mattress was uncomfortable and when showering at 0615 the inconsistent hot water kept switching from cool to extremely hot every 20 seconds. Also as a previous reviewer noted: why isn't there any chair, even a small one, in the room?

An uninspiring Soviet-style breakfast buffet is served at the other convent hotel next door. The hot items (eggs, sausage, porridge) appeared revolting but the cold items (salads, breads, muesli) were acceptable. Coffee and hot water from the machine were barely warm. Service was sullen.

On the positive side, I did note at least six power outlets for charging all your devices in the room and all the staff are quite charming. And the location is utterly fantastic, despite the difficulty you might encounter in attempting to spend time observing the scene outside your windows because in some rooms you can't really position yourself due to lack of space to properly look out the window.

So perhaps while you are meant to suffer like a nun at a property like this, for €70 this seemed too precious, despite how quaint and charming the property might be.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

The good: Most important the apartment was clean and safe. The shower had lots of water and was hot. The internet is good and there is one English TV channel, BBC. The location is in the middle of the old town, and is close to public transportation. The desk clerks were ok and speak good English but are not overly helpful. The breakfast was very good. The building is a quaint a very old hotel. The room is advertised as small, but it was not as small as I expected.

The bad: The street lights are very bright outside the window and the pull down shade is thin so the room is quite bright when you are trying to sleep. It was cold outside, and I turned the heat all the way down, but the room remained to warm Coupling this with a bed and pillow that were not particularly comfortable, I slept very poorly, and sleep is the main reason I get a hotel room. Because the room stays so light at night I would not stay here again.
There is no chair in the room, I think there is room for a small chair and it would be convenient.

jerusalem atrichoke cream soup, spicy roasted chicken breasts.


Finally I got to hear an old pipe organ concert. It was a shot

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room where the street lights shine in your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard_Greer_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night here on the first floor. The only complaint I have about my whole experience is the lack of curtains in my room. I don't like having someone staring back from across the courtyard when I'm trying to relax!

Otherwise this hotel is in a great location, everywhere I wanted to visit was easily walkable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the wifi was great.

My room was a good size and had everything I needed (except curtains) and I slept well. It was also very clean.

I also enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast which is served in the hotel next door.

Overall this was a great stay and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.3 km away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#45 of 111 in Riga
332 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekes Konvents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekes Konvents

Address: Skarnu iela 22, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range: €43 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekes Konvents 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekes Konvents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing