We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's huge and has a great beer bar - Don't miss it, if you are a beer-lover!”

Central Market (Centraltirgus)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.57*
and up
Private Riga Central Market Tour
Ranked #23 of 271 things to do in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The market is huge. The other reviews tell already about the market in general, but I want to share my enthousiasm about our most favorite place. In the same area with the fruits and vegetables is a corner where you can buy pastry. There is a tiny bar in the corner which sells the most delicious hand-craft beers. The best is that you cannot only buy it for take-away, but also drink it on the spot. I have tried 5 different beers during our stay in Riga (needed to come back to that place all over again) and they were all very different to each other, but equally delicious. The bar tender really knows about beers and happily shares his knowledge with the customers. If you go to Riga and you like good beer, you must visit there!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RosaroterPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zeppelin hangars"
in 97 reviews
"smoked fish"
in 48 reviews
"fruit and veg"
in 37 reviews
"fresh food"
in 30 reviews
"local produce"
in 25 reviews
"self catering"
in 19 reviews
"locals shop"
in 19 reviews
"dairy products"
in 17 reviews
"strawberries"
in 19 reviews
"caviar"
in 33 reviews
"stalls selling"
in 19 reviews
"local life"
in 11 reviews
"for sale"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 48 reviews
"interesting place"
in 17 reviews
"old town"
in 72 reviews
"real riga"
in 12 reviews
Filter

218 - 222 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Must be the biggest indoor market in Europe.housed in 5 old zeppelin hangers.meat,fish,fruit,veg.pickled veg,warm clothing,flowers.its all there.fish hanger never seen so many types of fish ,caviar,eels,both fresh and smoked.a must see on visit to Rīga.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DaveS233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The central market is one of the thing what you have to visit if you are in Riga , the market place have a great history behind and the buildings user for this market have been moved to Riga from other place where the buildings was used for “cepelins “ the first airplanes . It is the best place to buy fresh products and have the biggest fish market in Riga . But be aware of your pockets and wallet if you decide to visit this market , not sure but is possibility that someone will climb in your pocket but possibility of that is much less then it can happen in Spain’s markets .
Visit it and enjoy! Even if you will decide to buy nothing !

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 234liened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I am really enjoying the Central market
I don't like shopping i general but when I shall cook for a party or a holiday, this is the place
The prices are good, and it is allowed to bargain
The handy craft is beautiful and all my wooden kitchen tools come from the market
My favorite is the fish hall, maybe because I am 50% Norwegian, growing up with fish 3-5 times in week
It is delicate, and some of these fishes are local only.
It also interesting to see how they sell all parts of the fish separate, bones, heads, stomach, smoked, salted, fresh and frozen
In the middle hall are there a lot of local food and spices
The vegetables sections have many variants of "Skabs kapost" means marinated cabbage or Latvian sauerkraut, and "Gurkis", means pickled small cucumbers.
I have the impression that, there are more recipes of that in Latvia then Bacalao recipes in Portugal, and when that is mentioned.
Lavian "Jania siers". Directly translated, The cheese for midsummer. Frisian clove cheese. Cheese with cloves and cumin. Every farm with milk producing cows, has their own recipe, and you will have the chance to taste many of them at the market
What else?
There are almost 100 small shops in the middle of the area, plus many small shopping malls, behind and beside the meat market, and 80% of them sell women shoes and boots, clothes and beauty products.
There are also very good shoe and boot shops, suits, shirts, sport clothes and fake letter jackets for men.
One very good thing, when you buy a suit, shirt or jeans
Many of the shops, offer to sow your clothes if for example the legs or arms are a little bit to long or the jacket and jeans are to wide
Go there

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank rozenberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Very busy market area inside old aircraft hangers .. located not far from old town riga... full of fresh food fruit vegetables cheeses meats and fish... theres a whole world of interesting things to see and eat in this market area... only wish we had more time there....

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank CosmicKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Market (Centraltirgus) also viewed

 

Been to Central Market (Centraltirgus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing