We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic dinner ”
Review of Entresol

Entresol
Ranked #14 of 1,193 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We went there to experience the knapas as we had seen the menu on the website already. Food is amazing, great and attentive service and excellent location. Very nice interior too! Keep up the great work !

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simonette86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2018

Dined here alone as here for business. Welcoming restaurant. Great craft beers. Great choice of tapas / knapas. So good I had to go for 4 as could not decide on 3. They were all great! Main course of tuna - asked for rare & it came that way. Nice glass of Gavi to accompany. Pleasant service - couldn't ask for more.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wizadofwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

From the moment we walked in the restaurant, we were very well treated. Our host / waiter was very friendly from the get-go and was asking us questions showing his interest towards us.

The menu consists of two sections. The first one for starters is a list of about 12-14 knappas (tapas-style items). The restaurant suggests one person to take three to make it a proper "appetizer". You also get a discount on the unit price when ordering three (11 Euros vs 4,50 Euros each). Some knappas (identified with a "O" in front of the name) are considered "latvian tapas".

The knappas were good, but unequal in terms of quality. We ordered:
- Ceviche: The best one we had, in our opinion. Very tasty and refreshing. Great dish
- Beef ponzu: very good, but missing a bit of the ponzu taste Some sort of broth would have been great with this dish
- Pike medallion: Perfectly cooked and good taste.
- Rabbit paté: Quite big serving, considering you will most likely eat it with bread (some croutons are coming with the dish). Taste and constituence were there though.
- Knappa op the day, trout: Good, but could have been great if the fish had been served a bit less cold. Lukewarm or just slightly heated would have upped the dish.
- Ravioli: Our least favorite by far. The pasta was hard and dry, the filling was very compact and tasteless and the mushrooms were bland. This one has to be improved or taken out of the menu altogether, in our opinion.

One drawback about the knappas, is that they bring them all together at once. Not only does it clogs the table... it also is not optimal as you might be somewhat rushed to go through some of them faster, as the hot / warm knappas are best eaten while still at the proper temperature.
As these don't take long for them to make, we would suggest they serve maximum three at once. So, if two people order the 3-course knappas, they should bring them in two services, the second being brought only when the first one is finished.

As for the mains, the choice is interesting also. We had:
- Deer: perfectly cooked (medium-rare). Tender, juicy and beautifully colored on the outside. The purée it came with was also delicious.
- Duck breast: always a gamble ordering duck in Latvia as it is usually overcooked. We shared our concern and our server told us not to be worried about the cooking level. When the dish came, we were relieved that he was right. The duck breast was pink and very tender. Here again, the purée was very good.

We didn't get any desserts (this time) as we were full.

Service was excellent throughout. Our server always being on cue for wine refilling and for bringing and taking the dishes.

All these plus a bottle of wine and still water for 106 Euros... that's a very good deal, even in Riga... considering that this is a high-end-level restaurant and that we would have paid at least twice for such a meal and experience in other European capitals.

We will definitely make this place a regular on our Riga list.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Isa-Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant serves amazing foods, no question about that. They have an interesting formula with their Knapas, three small courses that you pick out of fifteen or so. They offer good wines to accompany the dishes and a good evening is fastened.

One question that remained with us: why are the three knapas served together? Make then into apostate courses and you have yourself a Michelin worthy menu.

Keep up the good work guys!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Knapas here (tapas basically). The smoked duck is a must and our friendly waiter brought us some small, home baked savoury muffins - possibly the nicest bread we ate in a country that takes pride in baking. Try at least six dishes as the price is a measly 11 Euro for 3. Food was really good and value was amazing.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Barlotte1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Entresol also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Entresol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing