We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
How to play with similar names.

It's funny to see and hear. Both man might have been friends but actually never met. I like the... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2019
Philip P
,
Herentals, Belgium
Wilde and Vilde in front of Café Wilde

One of the many interesting statues in Tartu. This one is about two writers that probably never... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2018
ludortravel
,
Iasi, Romania
Read all 21 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
6
12
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
12
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019

It's funny to see and hear. Both man might have been friends but actually never met. I like the idea of the playing with names.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 October 2018

One of the many interesting statues in Tartu. This one is about two writers that probably never met. Good for a picture!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank ludortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This is the sculpture depicting the imaginary encounter of Oscar Wilde and Eduard Vilde. Clever! A good spot to take a picture!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ZY1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We wondered what Oscar Wilde had to do with Tartu but then read the story of the play with their similar names and we found it clever to use this as a cultural attraction.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank viivit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Named our son after Oscar Wilde ("The way to make children good is to make them happy.") so a joy to come across this on our way to the Barclay Hotel in Tartu. Great seat for boys to sit on for a photo between the two writers. Will have to visit its twin in Galway now.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Pauleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews