We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uspenski Cathedral of the Estonian Apostolic Orthodox Church
Save
Review Highlights
Nice but neglected church.

Unlike other Lutheran and Orthodox churches in Tartu this one is in a urgent need of restoration... read more

Reviewed 1 November 2017
DejanNS72
,
Novi Sad, Serbia
Place looked beautiful, but you could not get in

I assume that they are renovating the place (hopefully) since there were not a chance to get even... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2017
MC0777
,
Oulu, Finland
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
7
9
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
9
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2019

I would get the impression that it's abandoned and not open for visitors. Both the garden and the walls look like needing some serious maintenance before it can be exposed to visitors. Just not sure whether I was there at a wrong moment?

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Unlike other Lutheran and Orthodox churches in Tartu this one is in a urgent need of restoration. Church itself is really beautifull building from 18th century and could be great tourist attraction. Church yard is full of greenery and really relaxing place. Unfortunatelly, church is open only for religious services.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank DejanNS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I assume that they are renovating the place (hopefully) since there were not a chance to get even to the church jard.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank MC0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Uspenski Cathedral, though is situated in the city centre, is, somehow, away from main tourist tracks. This is a beautiful building, not entirely of traditional orthodox architecture. It obviously is in need of renovation. Shame, it was closed when I was passing by, so I can’t say anything about the interiors.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank acorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2015

t has red bricks and copper cladding on the towers and does not look too impressive other than its size and position from the outside but inside it is quite elaborate with grey marble and a very elaborate alter.Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews