We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting monument for the first rector of Tartu University

I learnt about Johan Skytte during an improvised walking tour offered by the students of a local... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
ludortravel
,
Iasi, Romania
Seal

I did not know who Johan Skytte is. When I discovered this monument it was the very first time that... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2017
DejanNS72
,
Novi Sad, Serbia
Read all 33 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
14
11
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
11
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I did not know who Johan Skytte is. When I discovered this monument it was the very first time that I heard that name. Later I found that Mr. Skytte was first (swedish) rector of the University of Tartu.
Monument is modern and interesting. Maybe a little bit out of place on the Hill but sculpture in the form of seal is very original and well done.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank DejanNS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2017

... still no idea who Johan Skytte was. It is a shiny modern artwork, a bit out of place among the old university buildings and the ruined cathedral, but other than suggesting he was important enough to receive a monument nothing more is revealed.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

If you are walking by it may be worth to stop and take a look, but for sure no need to make a detour.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Tompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 November 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews