We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Modern theatre at its' best

We went to see The Nutcracker there and I was blown away by how simple going to the theatre is in... read more

Reviewed 13 December 2019
TC2C
,
Lanark, United Kingdom
Excellent Les Miserables

Vanemuine is the oldest theater in Estonia, which has three different houses - Vanemuine's Grand... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2018
Mikael F
,
Helsinki, Finland
Read all 24 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
15
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
9
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Vanemuine is the oldest theater in Estonia, which has three different houses - Vanemuine's Grand building, Vanemuise's small historical building and the Harbour Theater on the shore of Emajõgi.

The Grand building was completed in 1967. The theatre auditorium has 700 seats (parterre 407/balcony 283).

The Estonian premiere of Hüljatud was 25.11.2017 and it has been so popular that the whole season is fully booked. The production is in Estonian, but there are Finnish and English subtitles.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This picture only shows the 'small theatre' which houses small productions but there is also a large Theatre overlooking Tartu Kaubermaja which contains a theatre for ballet, opera, and plays and a concert hall for concerts. The quality of all performances is excellent and the prices of tickets compared to back in England is rediculously cheap! If you like your culture, you must visit and take in a show, either in the main or the 'small theatre'

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Vanemuine is one of the oldest and best theatres in Estonia. In my opinion, ballet productions are especially good and high quality. If you plan to visit some performance I suggest to buy a ticket in advance. NB! There are two building of Vanemuine Theatre, be sure to visit Old Small Theatre, not the New Big one.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank iriiiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I was lucky enough to see the "Phantom of the Opera" - this wonderful musical of Andrew Lloyd Webber - in the presentation of Theatre Vanemuine - Tartu. I am a volunteer in Estonia, and in Narva - where I live now -, we truly lack of some demanding theatrical shows, so I was especially happy to be part of the audience. I saw many times the Hungarian version of this musical  in my hometown ( Budapest - Hungary) as I am a big musical lover. Honestly I think it is now very hard to surprise me when talking about different staging forms of well-known musicals. I saw  many others in London and in Germany in the last 10 years, so I can say I am well experienced in this field. Despite all this the production of Theatre Vanemuine achieved my admiration. The stage was a lot smaller and the set was also not only about showing off how much they invested in the show - which I think sadly at many times is the case. Everything was working perfectly, and even better. I loved the creative ideas which thanks to a theatrical rule, let the Estonians put their own ideas to the show, and they were not obliged to copy everything from the original production. I just love when there is a small idea leads to a great outcome and makes you wonder and believe again in the magic of the theater. I guess I am not giving away great secrets when I say that all the actors were playing and singing outstandingly, giving me goose bumps at some songs ( " All I ask of you", "Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again'") and taking me far away from my seat to the present time of the story. 

I saw the "Phantome of the Opera" in Tallinn, as they played here as guests, so I did not have a chance to see the home building of the company, but I am sure it is beautiful one and it provides a place for the artist to create more breathtaking shows in the future as well. Thanks to this experience I met another European country's theatrical world that let me broaden my cultural horizon and made me even more interested in all that Estonia represents.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Fruzsinahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Just as confusing as the two theatres on the same street being known as Vanemuine [the big house] (at #6 Vanemuise tn) and Vaike [the small house] Vanemuine (at #47A Vanemuise tn), the street they are located used to be called Aia.
The first two Vanemuine theatres, both of which burnt down in 1903/04 and 1944 respectively, were located at #6 Vanemuise, the site of the current Vanemuine (i.e. overlooking the shopping malls of Kaubamaja and Tasku.)
In 1944, after the theatre burnt down, the institution moved to the former German theatre at #47A, this theatre became known as 'the small house'.
In 1962, the current theatre - the big house - was opened.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Derettens O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews