We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like grandma's”
Review of Anna Edasi

Anna Edasi
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Tartu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Anna Edasi is a small family-run cafe in the Karlova district of Tartu. It is named after the great-grandmother of the lady in charge. The cafe offers simple food and a wide range of bakery and confectionery items. The cafe was named Tartu's most child-friendly company in 2011 and made the top 50 in the Genuinely Estonian category of catering establishments in 2010. Come and enjoy the cosy atmosphere, home-style meals and treats and vinyl music at Anna Edasi - doors close only when the last guest leaves!
Reviewed 6 July 2019

This place is absolutely amazing! I had a delicious cabbage and meat soup as well as a bunt cake full of chocolatey goodness. The menu is not in English, but the server kindly translated it. Also, everything on the menu is 5€ or less! I felt like I was eating at my grandmothers table. Great food and atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Getaway768867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2018

Recommend only for those who are curious about the “joys and quality” of a typical Soviet-era service. It is either just slightly unfriendly or really rude. Apparentely the rudest barista is the owner, which explains a lot. When a person shouts to the client just for a friendly reminder to get finally his coffee (after a meal), I can only imagine the “positive vibes” he sends to his employees. The food is all right, though (although it also seems to depend on the mood of somebody. For instance, a pancake size and filling can vary two times. Be aware of demanding reminders to pay only in cash (as an owner a small company, I can somehow understand it…, however, I wouldn’t express it publicly. When I described my experience, my colleagues laughed at me and said that they’ve been avoiding this place for years now, exactly for the same reasons.

Kokkuvõte eesti keeles: teenindus on kas keskmine või halb ning meenutab nõuka-aega. Oma kogemust tuttavatega jagades, selgus, et samadel põhjustel ei käi nad seal juba ammu. Iroonilisel kombel selgus, et kõige kurjem ettekandja on hoopis koha omanik (mis seletab ka selle, miks ülejäänud töötajad käivad ringi mossis näoga). Toidud on iseenesest normaalsed, kuid portsude ja lisandite suurused võivad sõltuvalt päevast (kokast? omaniku kohalolust?) erineda kahekordselt. Letiesine on täis sildikesi, mis survestavad sularahas maksma, mis viib paratamatult mõtted ühte suunda ega mõju hästi. Sealjuures olen siiski maksnud ka sulas, kuid sõbralikkuse aste pole muutunud. Samas ei saa välistada, et kui käia seal 2x elus, ei võiks vabalt jopata teenindaja peale, kes on sõbralik.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. It is very oldschoolish in good sense! Never had such a delicious pancakes-one is really enough! Great choice of cakes. And what a lovely lady who was serving there. Really worth money and it wasn't very expensive.
They very nicely have thought of children.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank lielgabals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Warmhearted and old-styled family cafe. Not wide menu but very tasty food - just like at home. And very interesting cakes, try cloudberry cake. Here you can eat your breakfast (porridge, omelettes...) or dinner (soups, salads, pancakes...). Prices are low. It is historic place so try not to miss it when you visit Karlova. Many local people eat or drink coffee here! PS: there are children corner with books and toys and also books and nespapers for their parents, or you can just sitting here with your own book. Also they sell homemade bread and serve food for takeaway.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

This caffey offers good localy made food and cosy atmosphere, like visiting grandmothers farm home. Leave enough space in your stomach.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Uku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Anna Edasi also viewed

Tartu, Tartu County
Tartu, Tartu County
 
Tartu, Tartu County
 

Been to Anna Edasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.