We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Estonian Jewish Museum
from US$206.45
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
11
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
6
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

Estonia has long been a buffer between Russia and the west. As such, it’s history is fascinating, and the experience of Estonian Jews is too. Plan about 45 minutes for the visit and make sure to chat with the nice lady in the museum. She has some interesting information.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank JLB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2019

Well worth the effort. There is a chronological history of the Jews in Estonia and how they were persecuted and murdered by the Nazis. Yet the current population of about 2000 is vibrant. They even have a school so the future bodes well. Audio assistance is available although the lady in charge speaks English and Russian as well as her own Estonian language. Security is tight for the museum and the beautiful synagogue which adjoins.

Mordecai in the synagogue is a charming fellow who speaks Ivrit, English, Russian, Yiddish and Estonian. Moving and informative. Don't miss out.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

I’m surprised to see this museum so low on the Trip Advisor list of Tallinn museums. I’m guessing it has more to with it’s out-of-the-way location than the museum itself. I was very impressed with it and found it much better than a lot of the higher rated museums.

The museum provides a good overview of the history of Jews in Estonia. The information is in Estonian and Russian but the audio guide worked well in English. I took a quick 10 minute tour with the audio guide. After that I went back and got detailed explanations of different parts of the museum that I was more interested in.

I also had a nice talk with the woman working at the museum. She was very friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank JMK-Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Thank you so much to our guide who gave up his lunch to show us round and tell us about the history of Estonian Jewry. The new synagogue is beautiful and the community is thriving after being wiped out by the nazis. He museum is very interesting. There is also a kosher restaurant.

Date of experience: July 2015
6  Thank stephanies906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I had visited the museum during the "Tallinn Night of Museums 2015" event. It is located pretty close to the city center, what made the visit very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and polite. That night the visitors were invited to a glass of delicious wine. My visit to the museum was very interesting- I wish this experience to everybody!

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews