We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel, Shame About The Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hestia Hotel Europa
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I took Mrs Capricorn to Tallinn for her [REDACTED] birthday. The hotel was booked by my travel agent: on return to the UK I rewarded her with flowers. That ought to provide a clue as to the tone of this review.

On arrival, the staff could not have been more helpful, efficient and friendly. They offered coffee as we conducted check-in and answered my numerous questions quickly and comprehensively, which is always a good sign.

The room was very well appointed, clean, tidy and agreeably warm. There was a spacious wardrobe (which held an iron and ironing board - a definite plus!), a small sofa (which could be converted into another bed), a large TV (the selection of channels on which was eclectic), a very comfortable double bed and a well appointed bathroom with a hairdryer.

Water pressure was excellent and could fill the large tub quickly. The tub had a very high rim and this might pose problems for those guests with impaired mobility issues; if wet room-type bathrooms are available, it might be better to ask for one. The hand basin had no plug and the bowl had a flat bottom; this necessitated cleaning the hand basin after every use.

The window was of the 'suicide-friendly' type in that it opened fully inwards.

There was an almost complete lack of outside noise at night, which made for good quality of sleep.

The location of the hotel could not be bettered, being close to the ferry terminals and the Old Town and next door to the Nautica shopping centre, of which more later.

Breakfast was excellent with a full range of hot and cold options, very drinkable coffee and a range of juices. There was also the excellent local 'leib' (bread) available.

Dinner in the restaurant, sadly, was simply awful: lukewarm soup, under-cooked fish and slow service. This is an area in which the hotel might consider making a serious effort to improve. Until and unless it does, my advice is to dine in one of the many excellent establishments (Peppersack is personally recommended) in the Old Town, which is within 600 metres of the hotel.

The hotel lounge is large and comfortable. Tourist information is available in a number of languages.

The Nautica shopping centre next door houses, among other shops, an excellent branch of the Rimi supermarket chain. It opens at 0700 and closes at 2300, so even if one arrives late it is still possible to obtain items which are inconvenient to take through airports.

On the other side of the marina the Sadama Turg is well worth a look for food and drink and local crafts. The Sadamarket, on the other hand, should simply be avoided unless your taste runs to Nazi memorabilia, sex shop lingerie and/or offensive T-shirts.

The proximity of the ferry terminals to the hotel makes it almost imperative that a trip to Helsinki be included in any stay. At time of writing the return fare for two adults on a day trip was 64 euros. The ferries are state-of-the-art and travelling on them is a pleasure.

In spite of the restaurant, I can recommend this hotel thoroughly. Certainly, when Mrs Capricorn and I return, we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view. For mobility-impaired guests, a wet room-type bathroom is recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capricorn113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri K, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hello,

Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Europa and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel but sorry to hear that you were not pleased with restaurant. We will forward this review to the restaurant department for improvements

We hope to see you again,
Henri Kilk / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Great location between marina and old town, in front of Nautica shopping mall, this hotel is very convenient for business trip. Room a spacious and comfortable, and Internet is a rocket - super appreciate for work. Hotel team member are friendly. My room view attached.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Beorchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri K, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Europa and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you again,
Henri Kilk / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I stayed for one night with my friend. Very lovely service and as a sexual minority I especially loved when the staff asked if we wanted one big bed or two separate beds in our room. Thank you for that. The reason I did not give five stars was, that the room was missing a hotel info book, where all the infos on breakfast times ect are mentioned. Also the electric plug was hiding behind the night stand, so it was not so easy to find.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank outilespyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri K, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Europa and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
The important information for customer can be found from the menu of the TV in the room.

We hope to see you again,
Henri Kilk / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I had extremely good sleep, that does not happen often in hotels, at this particular hotel. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet. All was at the highest level as per my opinion. Breakfast was quite good with nice view.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aliona_riazanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri K, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Europa and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you again,
Henri Kilk / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Decent quality offering, friendly staff that were happy to go out of their way to help. Had a room over looking the harbour, great that the windows actually open and can let in the bracing Baltic air!

I would echo the comments on the breakfast orange juice!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank JimboHKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henri K, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Europa and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We hope to replace current orange juice as soon as possible at breakfast.

We hope to see you again,
Henri Kilk / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
1 km away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
724 reviews
1.7 km away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,298 reviews
2.5 km away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
352 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hestia Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hestia Hotel Europa

Address: Paadi 5, Tallinn 10151, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: €49 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hestia Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique design and spacious rooms of Hestia Hotel Europa makes it the most loved newcomer of the year by businessmen, holidaymakers and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hestia Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing