We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
US$165
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$173
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$177
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
208
100
32
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
100
32
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssparkling winequirky hotelold buildingblack breadviru streetcobblestone streetssteep stairsno liftmerchant's houselittle thingsbigger roomnoisy at nightsmall pooldefinitely stay here againraekoja platscentral locationcold meats
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Room was nice and cosy.Also staff was helpful. But we didn't enjoy noise, which was constant and disturbing early in the morning ( perhaps it was washing machine). Breakfast has run out of the food and it was visible that waitress couldn't handle the situation.
Nevertheless we will definitely recommend your hotel- it is unique experience in the
Tallinn old town.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Margot L,

Thank you for your stay at Cru Hotel and thank you for this feedback. We will look into the noise coming in the mornings, thank you for telling us!
Sorry to read about your experience at the breakfast, this should never happen that staff is not handling the situation. We will definitely go trough this!

Next time when you plan your travels to Tallinn, please do contact us directly and we can organise you something special.
cruhotel@cruhotel.eu

Best regards
Anneli Tammela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

What a lovely "getway" in Tallinn. We must have visited Tallinn at least 20 times and every time we have stayed in different hotel and eaten in different restaurant, but staying in Cru we had the both. The hotel itself is a lovely little pearl in the middle of Old Town in Tallinn, rooms are small, but the building itself is from the 15th century, so there your go. Rooms are all decorated differently, but with style and with modern toilets, showers etc. How nice it was to just walk downstairs to their lovely restaurant, no hassle with umbrellas and taxis, just a few steps downstairs. The food in the restaurant was delicios, would eat there again, really good service and nice recommendations for the wine. Breakfast was quiet, fullfilling and great service. We will stay here again, it was a perfect romantic getway for us! Many many thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Johanna7777,

What a nice surprise to hear back from you, and in such a kind way, thank you!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us this time, we do hope this will not be your last time at Cru, we really enjoyed having you here!

Till next time!

Best regards,
Anneli Tammela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Perfect location half-way between the main entrance (Viru Gate) to the Old Town and the Town Square. Important because taxis are not allowed into the central areas of the Old Town and you don't want to be dragging wheeled suitcases far along the cobbled streets, particularly not in the rain and snow of December when we were there for the Christmas Market in the Town Square. Hotel CRU is a small mid-range hotel with mid-range prices but with a top-of-the-range restaurant. Superb breakfasts included. Rooms are not luxurious, which would be difficult to engineer given the quirky nature of this old building and impossible in this price range, but have everything you need including modern bathrooms. Our standard double room was spacious. Judging from the photos on the website, some of the more expensive of the 15 or so rooms look very good indeed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Y7183WKmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Y7183WKmartin,

Thank you for taking the time and writing this kind and detailed review here on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to host you and we are very grateful that you have chosen to stay with us on your travels to Estonia.
Christmas time is truly a magical time here in Tallinn, specially in the Old Town, where everything is turned into this wonderland of lights and beauty, only need to hope that the snowman won’t forget us this winter.
We are very proud to have Cru located in such a wonderful place, just in the middle of everything. And we are doing our best to make our guests feel welcomed and joyful while visiting Tallinn. Happy to read that we have succeeded, also, next time you plan your stay in Cru, give us a call or e-mail, so you could have the experience of the Deluxe rooms that we have here.
cruhotel@cruhotel.eu

Best regards,
Anneli Tammela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

A nice hotel in the heart of Tallinn's Old Town. It is connected to an excellent restaurant, which meant that the breakfast was superb. Service was friendly and efficient. My single room was very small and it wouldn't be fun to spend a lot of time in there, but I think it was one of the cheapest options so the other rooms may have been more impressive.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheapest room options, unless you're not going to spend a lot of time in the room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear JLMW1,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your kindness here. Our breakfast is not big, but we try to make it super special, so it makes us happy to read that our guests have loved it.

Yes, single rooms are small, we try to keep a very good balance between the price and the quality, hopefully it shows also. But then again, in Cru, every room is different and individually furnished, so next time you plan you travels to Tallinn, please do contact us directly and we can organize you something special.
cruhotel@cruhotel.eu

Hope to hear from you soon

Best regards,
Anneli Tammela


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This hotel is situated in the old town which I would highly recommend... the location couldn't have been more perfect so for this, I would expect you pay a premium. However, given the 4.5/5 trip advisor review, we would have expected a little more from our room. With a 20% discount, the room was still €115 per night, and for this we we were in a very small room (room 7) - no bedside table, nowhere to keep toiletries in the bathroom, nowhere to store clothes or unpack... having said this, we made do just fine for the 5 nights we were there, and the hotel itself is just lovely, such an interesting building! The breakfast is small but very nice (the daily sweet treats are a lovely added extra!) - however one morning they ran out of bread and were unable to replenish so no toast?! (a pretty basic item to keep well stocked I would have thought?)... some of the staff could have been more smiley, however the lady who checked us out was so helpful and patient. Hit and miss! but overall we thoroughly enjoyed Tallinn and this hotel made a lovely 'base' - quiet and a good night's sleep which is the most important thing on holiday!

Room Tip: Room 7 very small!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Hannahrowe,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Cru, it was our pleasure to host you.
Thank you for your detailed review shared here on TripAdvisor, It means a lot for us.

Our objective is to offer unique and exclusive experience which would combine old and new, so that our guests can feel like home in an authentic Late Medieval atmosphere.
Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, you may choose the intimacy or luxury of a preferred environment.

Happy to read that overall you had nice time here. Next time if you plan to visit Tallinn, do not hesitate to write us directly, and we can organise something special for you
cruhotel@cruhotel.eu

Hope to hear from you soon!

Best regards,
Anneli Tammela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews