We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estonian Handicraft House
Save
Review Highlights
Textiles in natural materials

Promoting handicrafts based on traditional models the three shops in Old Town sell textiles made by... read more

Reviewed 31 March 2019
Heli P
,
Helsinki, Finland
Best Quality Estonian-Made Gifts in Old Town Tallinn

Anytime that I travel, I always seek the store that has the items made there. I was so fortunate to... read more

Reviewed 10 January 2018
momof4boys2016
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Read all 7 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tallinn
from US$87.85
More Info
from US$49.42
More Info
from US$98.83
More Info
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fabric knitted model shop tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2019

We spent a few interesting days in Tallinn, which is a great old town, and were looking for some gits to take back home. This place looked interesting, and had some really nice things on display, including some traditional Estonian embroidered dresses, and blouses. Unfortunately the sales assistant, despite speaking excellent English, was quite astonishingly impolite and unhelpful, and had no interest at all in selling us anything!! When I asked if the items that I was interested in were actually for sale, she just grunted at me, and muttered 'exhibition' and then turned her back!! Anyway, after scratching our heads about this for a bit, we went downstairs, and found another assistant who was actually interested in making a sale, so we bought a few bits and pieces, and were quite happy with them. All up it was a very strange shopping experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank TopShop9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 March 2019

Promoting handicrafts based on traditional models the three shops in Old Town sell textiles made by several people. Flower embroidery is sewn by hand in wool on slippers, gloves and purses in the same fashion as during the Soviet era, when they were one of the few souvenirs the Finnish tourists could buy. Now changes can be made to please the customers, the small striped bags are made of a lighter fabric, cotton than the original wool used for the heavy skirts of the national costume. Multicoloured sweaters are knitted in new colour combinations using the historical Estonian motives.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Heli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Anytime that I travel, I always seek the store that has the items made there. I was so fortunate to come across the Estonian Handicraft House, located right in Old Town Tallinn, not far from the town square. It will be easy to find as it is on well-traveled Pikk Street and there is a gold circle sign that says "Eesti Kasitoo" above the door. On the windows, in English it reads, "Estonian Handicraft House" so you know you've arrived. What a feast for the eyes when you enter! Here's what you've been looking for, in a variety of prices. Want something small to bring home for a gift? Choose a handmade wooden knife or fork made out of Juniper wood (which smells so good!). And at just a couple of Euros apiece, I bought about 20 forks and knives for family members back home. I also found a tiny handmade leather keychain with a drawing of the red-topped towers, for 6 Euros. And then the wool mittens or gloves! A great gift for yourself if you live in a colder climate. What I specifically wanted for myself was some sort of outfit that I could actually wear back home but with a traditional look. I found a black wool button down sweater with the traditional folk stripes on the cuffs of the sleeves and a band of the folk stripes across the hem on the back. Then in the Sale area, I discovered a wool pencil skirt with the same colorful folk stripes. I paid 60 Euros for the skirt and maybe 80-90 Euros for the sweater so a bit expensive but it was exactly what I wanted and I love it every time that I wear the outfit. The best artisans from all across Estonia sell their high quality crafts here which are made from natural fabrics, wood, metal and ceramics. I would highly recommend this shop and I can't wait to go back someday.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank momof4boys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews