We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Central Park of Tallinn

This park is centrally located between the Estonia Theatre and Viru shopping center with the... read more

Reviewed 15 February 2022
Mikael F
,
Helsinki, Finland
The perfect path from Old Town to New

Located in the center of Tallinn, between Old Town and New, Tammsaare Park provides a lovely path... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2019
Hawk470
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Read all 34 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
12
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
12
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viru shopping center hotel viru statue benches theatre erected estonia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2023

This park is pretty and well-located (within easy walking distance to Old Town, and to where we were staying), but there was more pavement than we liked, as opposed to grass that we were wanting. Also, the backs of the benches were not very comfortable to lean against.

It got very busy in the late afternoons, so if people-watching is your goal, this is a good park. If you're looking for a quieter place with more grass, I'd go somewhere else.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2022

This park is centrally located between the Estonia Theatre and Viru shopping center with the legendary skyscraper hotel Viru from 1972.

We have walked through this park at least hundreds of times. During summertime, it is a lush park with many people sitting on the benches.

The park is named after Estonian author A. H. Tammsaare. In 1978, a statue for him was erected in the center of the park to mark his 100th birthday.

Date of experience: February 2022
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Located in the center of Tallinn, between Old Town and New, Tammsaare Park provides a lovely path from Medieval to Contemporary worlds. Leaving Old Town through the Viru Gate, follow the path to the left and you get to the KGB Museum in the Hotel Viru. Take the path to the right and you get to the National Theater. When we visited the path to the left had a fascinating photo exhibit of individuals and families encompassing the many ethnic groups among Estonia’s population. The path to the right took us past several interesting sculptures, including a statue of Estonia’s best-known writer and namesake for the park, A. H. Tammsaare, and a very intriguing half buried statue of a Mermaid.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Hawk470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

We passed through this park four times during our stay at Tallinn. It's a rare gesture to design and dedicate the sprawling park in memory of A.M.Tammsaare (1878-1940), a great Estonian writer whose novels portraying love,life, strong social message, left indelible impressions on people of the country. This aesthetically designed park, opened in 1978, on the occasion of 100th anniversary of birth of the legendary writer , contain a monument of Tammsaare, sculptures in forest gardens, a freedom monument, and pavilion cafe. This connect old town area that Vuru Mall and the main streets. A must visit to feel the rich literary legacy of Estonia.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank MadanGopalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2019

Leaving the old town and heading to Viru shopping center you will probably walk through this park. I found the posters of the Estonian people to be very interesting, although i do not know if they are there permanently. The park has been around for over 100 years and originally had a concert hall which burnt down and never replaced. There are plenty of benches where you can sit, lights at night and a good place for people watching. A statue of Mr. Tammsarre was erected in the middle of the park commemorating his hundredth birthday.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank palawanismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews