We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting

The tower contains a lot of medeval weapons and armour that you can get hands on with. There is a... read more

Reviewed 26 June 2022
richardmP1661JV
,
Hampstead Norreys, United Kingdom
Interesting tower

This 15th-century tower has six floors. The interactive exhibition will guide the visitor through... read more

Reviewed 28 January 2020
Mikael F
,
Helsinki, Finland
Read all 83 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tallinn
from US$41.37
More Info
from US$18.03
More Info
from US$100.78
More Info
from US$47.74
More Info
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
26
36
15
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
36
15
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

This little museum was a treat with children. When you go in, they tell you "you can touch everything and you can try on everything, just don't open the windows on the top floors", and that holds. Kids (and adults) had a lot of fun testing knightly armor ;) Definitely take a stop here if you pass by.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank JnkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

There are several different sections of walls and towers which you can visit in Tallinn. To see all of them, you will have to fork out entrance fees a ludicrous number of times. That is why it makes sense for serious sight-seers to pay for the Tallinn card, which allows you entrance into all of the city's medieval defensive works.

This tower was built specifically in the 14th century to counter the increasing threat from cannons. There are some fairly scant exhibits on this aspect of history and some weapons you can touch. But really this place isn't worth paying 6 euros for if you are on a budget. Better to get the Tallinn card.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank camsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Unless you have young children who love reproduction armour and want to try on a helmet or chain mail jacket there is little here of interest. You cannot walk onto the walls and there is nothing of interest worth the entry fee.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This gorgeous tower, other then the church towers in Tallinn Old City are among those structures that could be seen from distances, especially from the top deck of the cruiseline at the Ferry terminal harbour. It is among the structures of Tallinn Skyline

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank kiltmaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 December 2016

My children and I came across this tower quite by accident and we are so glad we did. On the ground floor, my son was able to try on a full (replica) suit of armour, which he loved. My daughter and I are history buffs, but my son showed no interest in history whatsoever. However, after seeing this tower, climbing the internal staircase to the top and marvelling at the sheer age of the structure, he has developed a keen interest in history. Coming from Australia, which is quite a "young" country (compared to Estonia), we were blown away to be able to touch a wall and enter a door which people were doing in the 15th century.

The only reason I give this tower 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the female staff member. She appeared bored, disinterested in the tour groups entering the tower and was quite difficult to engage with (she spoke some English so language between her and I was not a barrier in this case.) Maybe a "behind the scenes" role would suit her better.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank GreyWolf182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews