We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
2-Hour Guided Walking Tour of Tallinn
29

Book in advance
from
US$47.74
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Dominican Monastery Claustrum
from US$47.74
More Info
from US$132.60
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
44
52
18
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
52
18
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2019 via mobile

This is petite but beautifully preserved. Accessed via an ancient archway into the courtyard. The steps to the museum are old and uneven.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 961SueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

While walking around through Tallinn, we stopped by the Monastery. The lady at the desk was very friendly, but it was not worth the money to go inside. We did sit in the courtyard for a few minutes and it was pleasant. The stairs leading up are a bit challenging, so if you go, make sure you can climb the slightly crumbling stairs. It was ok, but not the highlight of our day in Tallinn.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

Pretty hard to find, hidden in a small courtyard with a small sign pointing to the entrance upstairs. Well worth the trouble and the admission price. The monastery is small, and the lady looking after the museum was happy to give us information but we were in a bit of a hurry and opted to look at the place at our own pace. Very atmospheric, almost eerie in some of the areas, though spoiled in spots by traces of modernity like ill placed cables. Hard to imagine visiting a pristine medieval monastery right in the heart of tourist packed old town. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ECWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

My friend and I visited on 19th May. The lady was keen to explain about the history and was really helpful. Great acoustics when you go downstairs, and sufficient information about the monks who lived there. I would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank hev7458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Tucked into a pleasant courtyard, I saw a lot of people snap a picture of the courtyard and not walk up the steps to the museum. They missed out. The monastery is small, but very atmospheric. The fact that it hasn't been overly restored for tourists is great; it's like something you'd picture in The Name of the Rose. The rooms are well preserved; the echoing chamber on the lower floor and the chapel in particular are even a bit eerie. You can walk through at your own pace for 5 Euros and the lady running the museum is happy to give you more information.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank ZachF247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews