We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
2-Hour Guided Walking Tour of Tallinn
30

Book in advance
from
US$47.74
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Dominican Monastery Claustrum
from US$47.74
More Info
from US$132.60
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
44
52
18
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
52
18
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We had a guide. It seemed that you couldn’t get in just on your own, although there is a charge. It truly is splendid! It is Tallinn’s oldest intact building. It used to be a monastery but is now a museum. It was established by Dominican monks in 1246.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Visited this beautiful place at the end of the day, and the lady was keen to tell about each of the rooms once inhabited by the monks of the monastery. It was quite dark, so stepping into a couple of the rooms was done with a degree of apprehension, as I knew no- one else was there. On emerging back up the narrow stairway, the lady asked me if I had sang in the room below, as it was ‘good for energy’ because of the acoustics. Not being a singer, it was with with some reluctance, but because she was keen I did, and because I knew the building was empty, back down I went....I sing a very simple chant. The acoustics are simply amazing and transformed the poor sound that left me into something rather lovely! Do go, as a group and sing, or on your own, and be astounded.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sheffieldeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Its a beautiful hidden place just in front of the access to the big wall. Its cheap the lady who is at the entrance speak several languages. It was worth to visit the several time I stayed in tallin for the day. Its peacefull and calm. Walking trough the different chambers make you feel calm and harmonius.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank manuelbQ5583EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

It’s easy to miss since it is hidden behind the wall but do search it out. A nominal fee grants you access to several ancient rooms hidden away. All are really neat but the library is truly amazing. You can visit the local artist and purchase a had made piece of art if you wish. All in all, it’s an incredible experience.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Z0siaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Hidden behind an entrance, with little signage, but once u step into the courtyard, it's amazing to find such a beautiful site there!
A lot of people tended to step in to take photos and then leave, but it's worth heading upstairs...even tho the Euro5 entrance fee may seem a little much!
The site is small, a few rooms which were the monks' dormitory, chapel, and both upstairs and downstairs are the old library...all very interesting rooms with such history, which is told to u by the lady who meets you when u enter.
She is truly passionate about this, so take the few mins to listen to her which will give u a little more insight into the history of his monastery.
As other posters have said, it's disappointing to find that there's a separate entrance fee for the cloisters and courtyard next door!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anfield33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews