We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A surprising find with free entry

This was truly a surprise. The museum has it's own entrance, you don't actually walk through the... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2017
traveljaka
via mobile
Cool and free

First of all the entrance is free. It shows the history of money in Estonia and explains economy as... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2017
JonDoe04134
,
Umea, Sweden
Read all 31 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tallinn
from US$94.59
More Info
from US$267.66
More Info
from US$96.74
More Info
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
8
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
8
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I had noticed this gorgeous building before and thanks to
TA photos I recognized this attraction and with excellent opening hours it was my obvious choice for this weekend's trip.

The facade gives you only a hint what to expect. Never did I imagine such a gorgeous interior possible right in middle of the town. No entrance fee, closed on Sundays and Mondays and (some) bank holidays.

The entrance is the Corner tower and its spiral staircase and stained glass windows are absolutely beautiful. Windows were prepared in Riga 1904 by Ernst Tode's workshop. Downstairs there is also a wooden Art Nouveau bench. The building is over 100 years old.

On top of the staircase you can see the beautiful ceiling with a jugend luminaire complements the ensemble. Inside are the Noblemen's hall and Peasants' Hall as well the Museum Shop where you can actually change Estonian kroons for euros.
There are more beautiful lamps and decor details inside. Coins, paper money, wax figures etc. complete the exhibition.

Definitely worth a visit. See yourselves.

Date of experience: March 2016
3  Thank vivianl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2015

The building itself is worth visiting even if you don't enjoy the museum. There's a lot of interactive activities and displays and everything is in English. The vault shouldn't be missed and is super creepy -- as are some of the wax statues. A must see and free!

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2015

My friend and I stumbled upon this museum when our cruise ship docked in Tallinn for the day. The museum is free and we thoroughly enjoyed going in the old bank vaults (including auditory reenactment of a man being boiled as punishment for counterfeiting!) and learning about Estonian intellectuals featured on banknotes. There is free candy and many activites for children which my college age friend and I found entertaining.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Tia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2022
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews