We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Church of the Holy Spirit Puhavaimu Kirik
Save
2-Hour Guided Walking Tour of Tallinn
37

Book in advance
from
US$49.42
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Church of the Holy Spirit Puhavaimu Kirik
from US$49.42
More Info
from US$219.63
More Info
from US$49.42
More Info
from US$395.00
More Info
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
242
188
55
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
188
55
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass windows old town worth a visit the main square estonian history organ paintings interior century pulpit peek euros europe toompea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2022

What an amazing place. The old painted clock on the outside is incredible. The interiors take the brreathe away. it is not a large chuch but the carvings and paintings inside can match any museum. just stunning.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank richardmP1661JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 May 2022

While there are several other churches in the Old Town that appear front-and-center in most guide books, this building with a plain, white washed exterior is a deceptive gem. I unknowingly passed by here probably a half dozen times before considering entrance. After paying a very reasonable entrance fee of 2 Euros, I was ushered inside by the cashier. I immediately realized I was alone and had the entire space to myself. I spent the next hour exploring both levels of the church including the altar, stained glass windows, choir, organ, and unique two-aisled nave. An organ performance the next evening rounded out the experience with pieces by Bach, Vasks, and Langlais.

My visit here was significant for two reasons. First, the importance of the church in Estonian history was notable as the title indicates; I also found out that the first extracts of the catechism published in Estonian were printed here in 1535. Second, the seclusion of the experience was, for lack of a more sophisticated word, special. Although this church doesn’t have the literal and figurative elevation of the Toompea duo (Niguliste and Dome churches) or the towering steeple of St. Olaf’s, it does appeal to those who prefer their religious moments in simpler terms.

A recommended visit, especially in the early morning when crowds and noise are at a minimum.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 August 2020

Wonderful church with a painted gallery that tell so many of the Bible stories! It was the end of the season so they were out of English language literature, but the painted gallery was amazing! Very nice alter piece too and the well worth a very nominal entrance fee.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 April 2020

It is worth the small 1.50 Euro entry fee to see the inside of this church from the early 1300s! There is interesting art from many hundreds of years ago, plus the fee helps the maintenance. I was in Tallinn on a 9-hour stopover on a Norwegian Getaway 9-day Baltic Cruise in August 2019. Rick Steves "Scandinavian & Northern European Cruise Ports" Guidebook was a great help and this church was part of the self-guided "Tallinn Walk" in the book.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank EileenMtShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

There is a lovely atmosphere in this Church, which is steeped in history.

One evening I went there for a wonderful Bach concert, with Kristiina Hoidre on the organ and Kirill Lissijenko on the piano. There are regular free concerts, which are well worth attending.

I returned to the Church a couple of days later to look at it more closely.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews