We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
Review of The Three Sisters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Three Sisters
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted to go somewhere where I could be spoiled for my 60th birthday, and was advised to try Tallinn. Looking through the available hotels, I really liked the look of the three sisters. I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is housed in three 14th century houses, built by a prosperous merchant for his daughters. It has been renovated beautifully. I delayed booking for a while, and as a result could only get a junior suite. This was expensive, but very nice. We had room 37 in the roof space of the right hand house as you look at the hotel from the street. It has a large, egg shaped bath (no separate shower, unfortunately), a large King sized bed, and a separate sitting area. There were two televisions.

The staff was very friendly and organised a walking tour through the city for us. They also advised on the tram numbers to look for in order to visit the Kadriorg Palace.

The hotel serves very good breakfasts in a charming room with an ancient painted ceiling. I would also advise eating in the hotel's Bordoo restaurant. The food was some of the best I have tasted in years.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

otherwise you might get irritated by some issues like strange water flow or heating through conditioner etc.
Hotel is very clean and personnel is fantastic! Not to mention the breakfast served in fancy area. My guess it is really nice in summer, walls are at least 50 cm thick

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ingver_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is converted from the old buildings, and the transformation is just wonderful
Very spacious and comfortable, best of all, there are lots of charms
Hotel is located in the center of old town, easy access to all things, just wonderful
Last but not the least, the hotel staff is kind, courteous and always ready to help

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The Three Sisters Hotel is situated at the northern end of Pikk Street, the main thoroughfare that runs the length of Old Tallinn. It benefits from being within the city walls, but away from the main tourist attractions. They are however only a 5-10 minute walk through the cobbled streets.

Since September 2017 it has also been accessible via the tram system from the airport taking less than half an hour. Tram number 4 will take you to Hobbujaama where you can change (same platform) to a number 2 for the few stops to Linnahall. This tram stop is just outside the city walls near the tower called Fat Margaret and a two-minute stroll to the hotel even with cases.

The hotel consists of three very distinctive, 650-year-old buildings that have served as warehouses and merchants houses. Modern facilities have been inserted within the ancient walls whilst maintaining the character. Our DK guide book actually listed the hotel as a tourist attraction because of the well preserved and photogenic exterior.

On arrival we were greeted by Tanel who spoke perfect and idiomatic English. We were given a “small upgrade” (his words) from a superior room to a junior suite which was a huge space that ran the depth of the property. Nothing was too much trouble for Tanel during our stay and on our second night he secured us the last table in a popular, but tiny Estonian restaurant.

Our room had a seating area with a laptop computer provided and a TV. The second room had a large queen-sized bed and an open plan roll top bath/shower. There was also a second TV. There was more than adequate wardrobe and drawer space. It was very comfortable and difficult to fault.

Breakfast takes place in the Angel Room which has a frescoed ceiling. It’s a pleasant space that overlooks the central courtyard. It’s largely a buffet affair but there is a menu to order other items cooked to order. We were served by Nina who, on the second day, remembered that I had coffee with cold milk and my wife had decaffeinated with hot milk. A small detail but much appreciated.

On our first night we ate in the fine dining restaurant which is called Bordoo. The service and the standard of cooking were exemplary. Our Roe Deer main courses were superb.

The Three Sisters lists a stellar list of previous guests including our own queen and the rock band Deep Purple, but it’s not stuffy and our reception was perfectly matched to our needs. I’m sure that they could do ultra-formal if necessary as well; a rare trick.
We were also staying between Christmas and New Year and our past experience elsewhere has been that the service is a bit flat. Staff are weary and you are left feeling a bit like those last few houseguests that overstay their welcome. That emphatically wasn’t the case here which bodes well for other times of year.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were particularly well served by Tanel on reception and Nina at breakfast but also the rest of the staff. We hope to come back again and explore Greater Tallinn and Estonia more generally.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Running_Tenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

visited in early december , walked from the port , wheeling cases through the snow , took 15 to 20 minutes , would have been 5 mins by taxi . the hotel is just inside the entrance of the walled medieval city [ which is justifiably a world heritage site ] . our room wasn't ready , we had arrived at 11.00 am , and we were asked to wait 20 minutes , and would we like some coffee , or wine . we had coffee outside in the courtyard . We smoke , and occasionally went to the courtyard , and a member of staff regularly came out to offer coffee, which was very nice , and we were never charged for them , which is a lovely touch!
our room was ready , we had booked a suite , but were upgraded to the 2nd best room in the hotel. floor area as big as our first residence. large sitting room , sofas , desks , chairs , lovely comfortable bed , separate dressing room , large bathroom , small balcony , nespresso , kettle , fridge tv , and everything you could want , all in a beamed oaken room , absolutely charming.
Breakfast was very good , hot and cold buffet , all fresh and local ,and an a la carte menu as well , very nicely done
to sum it up , the hotel , and its staff , are all you should expect from a Relais and Chateaux property , thank you for a lovely stay

Room Tip: ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pilgrim3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,778 reviews
0.8 km away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,442 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#18 of 86 in Tallinn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,571 reviews
1.2 km away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,301 reviews
0.7 km away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Sisters

Address: Tolli 2, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: €126 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Sisters 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2003, three of the Tallinn's most famous trading houses, built in 1362, were renovated and united to create the building of The Three Sisters Hotel. We offer five-star level services in the setting of modern design contrasted with the medieval history. Our hotel located within the fortress walls of the Old Town allows you to feel the spirit of the old Hansa, without compromising style, comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Three Sisters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Tallinn
Hotel Three Sisters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing