We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,842)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveller rating
470
849
374
103
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
849
374
103
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kgb museum shopping mall old town soviet times direct access big hotel breakfast hall interesting history top floor excellent location junior suite window sill same building breakfast restaurant bigger room family room standard room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Hotel rooms are good guality and breakfast is very tasty and there is something for everybody. Hotel location is good for exploring Tallinn downtown. Tram and bus routes goes around the hotel so you can pick transportation also to airport and other locations.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anttikaihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Hotel is Ok but still the old communist style and atmosphere is there. Nothing special room with a soft bed. Reasonable service but nothing great. Good location close to the old town. Breakfast is very basic.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliise L, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Jan G ,

Thank you for your comprehensive review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were not totaly satisfied with our hotel. We can guarantee that we are doing our best in updating our rooms and it is an ongoing process. We are though pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the location and we hope that otherwise your trip to Tallinn was worth taken.
We hope that we will meet you again and during your next stay we can meet or exceed your expectations.

With regards,
Eliise Lumila
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I stayed here before and it is consistently clean and tidy with all features that are necessary. Value is good and there is a great buffet to look forward to at breakfast each morning. I did give some feedback to the check-in staff about how to be friendly and welcoming to arriving guests, so I hope that can be a bit better next time!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julesbr0wn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannela K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear julesbr0wn ,

Thank you for taking the time to point out both the positive and negative sides. We will share your reviw with our staff and hope, that next time the experience at the receptionn will be better.
Once again, thank you for the feedabck and warm welcome back to our hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We were a large group attending Europa Cantat Festival in Tallinn. The Hotel is perfectly located, within walking distances, from main attractions including the Old Town, Tallinn Concert hall etc. The Rooms are very comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. Ask at the reception for electric cattle if there is none in your room. Maintenance could be improved though (In few rooms the air condition did not work, and in another draining of water was too slow). Breakfast is great. Better be early for breakfast. At late hours the dining room is crowded. Overall we had very good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilKlemperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stayed for 5 nights with family. Both the family room and double room were very comfortable & clean. We were on 12th floor where AC was not strong enough due to heatwave at the time. Breakfast was plentiful and very satisfying. Front desk staff were very helpful, despite the fact that they were always very busy. Attitude of AC technician who visited our room, on the other hand, was not polite, possibly due to lack of knowledge of English language. Location of hotel couldn't be better! Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Louis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews