We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Air condition filter was quite dirty and because of that the air was stale. There was also few corners left without vacuum and there was dust. My suggestion is that someone should check out rooms at least once week so hotel standards stays same all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hangover695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadi S, Hotel Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear hangover695

Thank you for your recent stay and detailed review!
I´m so sorry to hear that your room wasn´t cleaned properly.
We go through all guest feedback with our teammembers and do our best to improve the facilities and service.
We are in the process of improving the guest experience and will use your feedback to assist us. Thank you for sharing the experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate it.

If your travel brings you back to Tallinn, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Kadi Saluoks
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The room was very spacious, neat and clean. The bathroom was large and provided all amenities. The breakfast spread was very good.
The best part of the hotel was the awesome view from the room. The harbour and open sea was clearly visible. Although the sun set very late in the evening it was a spectacular sight to watch. Always ask for a room with a view of the harbour.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank subir1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadi S, Hotel Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear subir1994

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice five star review afterwards.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again at Original Sokos Viru Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Kadi Saluoks
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed three nights at the Sokos Viru Hotel on a business trip. I find it is an average hotel:
-too big, too many clients.
-average rooms, quite small.
-average bathroom, practically no amenities: just bulk shower gel/shampoo all in one bottle.
-TV with some international channels.
-free wifi: very good quality and speed.
-average breakfast buffet: quite varied, but not good quality.
-friendly staff.
-quite good price.
-good location, close to the old town(5 minutes walk).
-confortable bed and pillows.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadi S, Hotel Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Bruselense

Thank you for choosing Orginal Sokos Viru Hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at our hotel.

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

So nice to hear that you found also many positive things to write about as free wifi, friendly staff, comfortable bed and pillows, good location.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at kadi.saluoks@sok.fi

Sincerely,

Kadi Saluoks
HotelManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Even though I had a problem with booking confirmation, staff was very helpful and called to hotel accross the street to book a night there. 2nd night in Viru was very enjoyable. Breakfast were tasty with a lot of options.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rasasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadi S, Hotel Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear rasasam

Thank you for choosing Original Sokos Viru Hotel for your stay in Tallinn!

I was very happy to read your review and have forwarded your nice comments to our entire staff.
We do hope to see you soon again!

I wish you a nice fall!

Kind regards,

Kadi Saluoks
HotelManager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I really enjoyed my stay in the Hotel Viru - ideally located, friendly and very helpful staff and comfortable room. What more could I want? Well - a longer time to stay, actually. As this was a business trip, I could not make best use of my time in Tallinn and I hope to return to the Hotel Viru for another stay on a personal basis soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arbalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadi S, Hotel Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Viru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Arbalista

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to leave your very nice comments afterwards.

I'm so happy to hear that we have succeed with our service and that your stay with us was pleasant!
We all hope you continue to choose Original Sokos Viru Hotel in the future as well! If I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at kadi.saluoks@sok.fi

Best regards,

Kadi Saluoks
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#11 of 86 in Tallinn
665 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
0.1 km away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.6 km away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru vaeljak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: €79 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing