We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Expedia.com
US$106
View deal
Agoda.com
US$93
View deal
Hotels.comUS$106
PricelineUS$115
TravelocityUS$106
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
151
221
96
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
221
96
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town hotel is located junior suite excellent location recommend this hotel enjoyed my stay top floor breakfast buffet the room was nice christmas market standard room elevator noise rooftops square taxis sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2022

The hotel claims to be a "boutique hotel" but what it really end up being is old, shoddily maintained and badly run.

From the bad sewage smell in the bathroom (possibly caused my the mold which is literally everywhere) to the chipped paint, musty carpets and terrible beds to the lackluster breakfast room, broken-down elevator and airco which will not switch on, everything reeks of neglect.

The noise from the bars and clubs goes on and on until at least 3 AM and is so intrusive sleep becomes a bad dream in itself (even if the rickety mattress would allow sleep to begin with).

Breakfast is really a disgrace with uninterested staff who won't even talk to you and are merely there to take away dirty dishes. Let's not talk about the "scrambled egg" which is really powdered egg cake, the stale old bread which is put out daily to the soft and hard boiled eggs which are stone-cold (probably set out the night before. A true health hazard.

In my room, the toilet seat was broken (rapaired only after two days of complaining), there were no coffee or tea facilities in the room, lighting in the bathroom insufficient to shave and reading lights next to the bed...insufficiently bright to read by. TV had only a few channels, no cable at all.

All floor are wood and creak terribly but the walls are not soundproofed either so if the neighbors next to you or above you decide to have a go at it, you might as well be in bed with them - you hear every groan and squeek!

Checkout at 5:15 AM was a drama, there was a sign on the reception "be right back" and of course nobody came for at least 20 minutes. Gone breakfast to go, gone taxi to the airport or even a simple quick coffee.

Room tip: High, higher but you will not escape the techno-beat
Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hello,
Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Barons and for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay, I apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will do our best to improve our service.
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2022 via mobile

It can’t be better located in the center of Tallinn. Everything is at the corners of this place. Lovely old building. I really enjoyed my stay for that. The staff is very friendly and always here to help. And the cherry on the cake is that at breakfast time you have a direct view in the city hall.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Exposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hello!
Thank you for your 5 star review and for your kind words about our service. I am happy to read you had a great stay.
We look forward to your next visit!
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2022

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on late April. Not even tourist season started and it was super noisy in the streets. Location is good only if you go to bars around the hotel. We were up till 3am as noise was terrible!! We were not approved to change room although there was free rooms (man in reception told us). So, I do recommend this hotel ONLY IN CASE YOU ARE OUT IN PARTIES TILL 3AM.

Room tip: My tip is to go to another hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mallat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hello,
Thank you for staying in Hestia Hotel Barons and for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay, I apologise for any inconvenience caused by the noise coming from the street due to our central location. We will do our best to improve.
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

Rooms are romantic but bit worn/ outdated. Historical feeling with old furniture and style. Location was excellent and staff was nice as well. Breakfast had everything from yoghurt, porridge, bread and pancakes to scrambled eggs with tasty fried vegetables.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lyyyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you in Hestia Hotel Barons again soon.
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

We visited from England to enjoy the experience of the old town and Christmas market. The hotel itself is situated perfectly for what we wanted. We were only a few minutes away from all of the local restaurants/bars etc which was very convenient. We loved everything about the hotel, from the friendly reception staff to the lovely little bar where you can order local drinks and just watch the world go by.
Breakfast was lovely. Always a good selection of hot and cold foods and endless hot drinks. Plenty of space to keep socially distant from others which was good. Bedrooms are of an adequate size (stayed in a twin) but the beds were a little soft for my liking.

All in all, we loved the hotel. We would definitely recommend to others that are looking for a comfy warm and welcoming hotel within the old town.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RachieP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Hello!
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy to read you had a great stay here in the heart of Tallinn Old Town.
We hope to see you here again soon.
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews