We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$93
View deal
Expedia.com
US$90
View deal
Agoda.com
US$87
View deal
Hotels.comUS$90
PricelineUS$101
ZenHotels.comUS$125
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
150
220
96
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
150
220
96
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town hotel is located excellent location junior suite recommend this hotel top floor the room was nice enjoyed my stay christmas market standard room elevator noise rooftops square taxis sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2021

The hotel is very well-located in the Old Town area of Tallinn. I knew that the hotel was in old city buildings, and classical rather than modern in style. That said, my 6-day stay was nice in all respects. The hotel's reception staff were friendly and helpful in offering recommendations of where to visit, go for dinner, or drink a beer in the evening. My room a standard room in the side building, not luxurious, but with ample space and everything in good functioning order. Housekeeping kept the room tidy each day. A big plus was the breakfast which included meats, cheeses, breads, vegetables, and more typical breakfast dishes including omeletes, breakfast meats, and bakery. Breakfast was open until 11:00 so you could sleep in a little and still get to enjoy breakfast. Taxi's aren't usually allowed to drive in Old Town streets, but the dropoff/pickup point is no more than one block from the hotel. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and I will stay at Hestia Barons again. Two small suggestions. It is always nice when hotel rooms have a coffee maker or at least a coffee pot. That would be a nice addition. The room was very comfortable but the mattress was a bit soft for my taste. But, these small suggestions don't detract from my overall positive experience at the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Dear Jeffrey K,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hestia Hotel Barons. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Great location, however, if you're in the other building across the street on Suur Karja and it's the weekend, bring earplugs! Our first night was a Friday and we arrived late, the bar next door was in full swing and the bass thumped through the walls until around 3 am. Asked to move the next day and they were really helpful, put us in the main building which was great - didn't hear a thing. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, and as mentioned - the location is great. Everything within a short stroll, in the heart of Old Town.

Room tip: Get a room in the main building
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodge82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2022

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. Our location is very central, but as you mentioned during some hours the nightlife makes some noise.The rooms in the main building are more quiet, but rooms in the side building are more spacious. Right now the bars close at 11pm, so the situation is much better also in the side building. The higher floos in the side building are also more quiet, so it is better to ask for a room on the higher floor. Our newest superior rooms are the most quiet, as we also added additional sound isolation to those rooms during construction.

We hope to host you again in the future.
With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2021

We stayed in Hestia in a top floor room in the side building. The room was nice with great views over the rooftops. The AC device would not work. When I asked about this from reception, they said that it was turned off for the winter and we should open the windows. Not sure if I should believe this as the device had error code E1 on it. On a warm October afternoon the temperature in the room was about 30 degrees celsius. To make it worse when you opened the window all the noise from a very noisy bar street below echoed to the room and lasted until 3AM. This was probably one of the worst hotel nights I have experienced.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank tuomasm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2022

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by a hot room. We have repaired the heating problem in that particular room, the thermostat was not working properly and thus the radiators worked with maximum level, creating an overly warm room. The airconditioning system is for cooling only and it is turned off during winter, as the heaters are turned on during cold periods.
Again, I apologise and hope this problem will not happen again.
With best regards,
Raido
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021

I liked everything about my stay. Everyone at the front desk was kind and helpful, location was perfect (walking distance to everything in Old Town and city center), very large room in the side building, perfect breakfast with nice view and free luggage storage. Will stay there again for sure.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank alvar t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raido Nurmela, General Manager at Hestia Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2022

Dear Alvar,

Thank you for your maximum review, always happy to receive great feedback. We hope to see you soon.

With best regards,
Raido Nurmela
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Just a couple days earlier we came back from Santorini and we still were full of +50 suncream. We decided to take a voyage to Tallin to have a good Sauna to get rid of the suncream. Hotel Baron’s suite room has a Sauna, so we took a ship to Tallin and bathed couple of days in the sauna suite. Hotel Baron is really OK. Nice staff.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews