We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Don't miss this museum

This is a small museum but interesting to spend an hour here. I never realised how many Swedes... read more

Reviewed 22 June 2019
palawanismyhome
,
Palawan Island, Philippines
Very interesting if you are Swedish

Most Swedes don’t even know of their countrymen in Estonia and the hardships they suffered. This is... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2019
Dr B
Read all 20 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
10
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
7
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This museum is very interesting given you are Swedish speaking and/or interested in history. The friendly guide gave a very thorough introduction to the Swedish in Estonia - in Swedish. It was very educative both for me and for my teens. I guess he can do the same in other languages - English, Finnish, Estonian? - too. The museum itself is small and cosy. Beautiful handicraft is on sale, as well as icecream for the kids.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank milagros2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2018

First of all, I saw an earlier review from two years ago that said no captions were in English. This has been rectified now.

It's a small museum about the history of coastal Swedes in Estonia. An island or region at a time and by specific era. It might be of particular interest to Swedes, but I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kalle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

That's the place we made a trip to, settled on one of the two peninsulas, connected with an isthumus. It appeared rather as one really quaint, but above all, one interesting museum. This museum tells us a story about the thousand - year-old settlements of the coastal Swedes in Estonia.
There are here the relics, the photos, old fishing nets and especially, a marvellous tapestry, depicting the history of Swedes in Estonia from the 1200s to their escape back to Sweden in 1944.
Whole range of products of handicraft can be seen here and it is genuine cultural heritage presented to the visitors, along with different and interesting undertakings that take place within the walls of this museum and also traditional wedding feasts are held as well.
We were very glad of getting one more piece of knowledge about the baltic history.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Oleg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice woman at the front, but she informed me no captions are in English. A shame bc exhibits look interesting otherwise.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank genibre69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This is very interesting museum if you are interested in baltic history in general, and specially in Swedish-Estonian settlements. The hotel gives very much details in Swedish-Estonian settlements over a thousand year timespan.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews