We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$41
View deal
Expedia.comUS$45
ZenHotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$45
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
0
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
0
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

Great place with cheapest price in town. Amazing location - 300m to romantic promenade, 100m to all old town restaurants and cafes. Raining outside, we was playing bowling at the same place.

Love Haapsalu!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 689ekaterinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanalinna, General Manager at Vanalinna Hostel - Old town Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you for your review!
We are happy that you had great time in our place.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Had birthday party at location, major technical problems. Management at location did not even bother to apologize. I do not know if the hostel is same bad service as thw bowling but that I cannot recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar_Mike_Foxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanalinna, Manager at Vanalinna Hostel - Old town Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

We are sorry for this kind of bad memories from our place.
We are working hard every day to avoid technical problems at the bowling alley, but as in the bowling alley there is a lot of electronics and the pinsetters are big mechanical machines, then sometimes there can be problems.
Right now we have great guys taking care of the machines and everything works as they need to work.
We hope to see you again at our place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I'm not a big bowling fan but Vanaliina Bowling Hostel is a kind of unique place. Tiina
and Arvi run the place and have taught their staff well. The reception is quick, friendly
and helpful. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the bowling center is six lanes
of relatively new Brunswick equipment and neat as a pin! There's a sauna downstairs,
and good Estonian beer on tap. The place sits in the heart of Old Town, quiet and
restful and a nice view of the town's famous midievel castle.

Room tip: Take a double, The price above the single is minimal and well worth it
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jefflog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanalinna, Manager at Vanalinna Hostel - Old town Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you for the review!
We are working hard on giving our best to offer the best service in the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Quite expensive: >40€/night for 2 person bedroom.

Small rooms ( allmost no space to unpack your stuff) and right above a bowling center, so there is a "clong" sound until 0:00.

Only good thing: In the center, friendly recepcionist.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanalinna, Manager at Vanalinna Hostel - Old town Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

As we are a hostel, the rooms are simple and not worth comparing to a hotel. Therefore, the price level is one of the lowest in Haapsalu, although our location is one of the best in Haapsalu.
It's true that our first floor has a bowling alley. We have advertised ourselves everywhere so that the bowling alley is on the first floor and visitors to the hostel are aware of it. We have done everything in recent years to prevent the sound from reaching the second floor.

We hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were booked into a small hotel in this resort but they had messed up the booking and they found us a room in the this hostel. Fortunately it was an en suite room but had 2 end-to-end small single beds and bunk beds - obviously meant for a family, not quite what we had anticipated for the first night of our Estonian holiday!! Fairly clean but there was an all-pervading smell of cooking throughout the place. Fortunately we were offered breakfast with our friends who had a room in the original hotel. Not recommended unless you really do want hostel accommodation.

Room tip: Make sure you request an ensuite room unless you are happy to share bathroom facilities on a corridor.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanalinna, Manager at Vanalinna Hostel - Old town Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

As we are a hostel, the rooms are simple and not worth comparing to a hotel. Therefore, the price level is one of the lowest in Haapsalu, although our location is one of the best in Haapsalu.
We understand your 2-star review as you had booking to other hotel, not hostel. Usually the hotels prices are twice higher than hostels.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews