We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bratislava Post-Communism Tour
684

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Slavin
More Info
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
667
467
127
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
667
467
127
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soviet soldiers impressive monument their lives memorial site world war great view of the city old town worth the climb worth a visit city centre presidential palace train station liberation hill grave slovakia hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2024

Exploration of the Soviet War Memorials continues.
Today we are looking at Slavin, Soviet War Memorial towering over Bratislava.
Approximately, 7000 soldiers are buries there. Most fell while liberating Bratislava in the early days of April of 1945. However, I also spoted a few graves with the date of death in August of 45. What stood out was a number of gravesites of female soldiers.
The statue of the soldier crowning the obelisk does not feature your regular soldier standing upright and holding a banner. Instead, the figure of a soldier looks like it is about to soar upward.
The sculpture compositions on either side of the main monument are touching and bring a sense of sadness.
Slavin located at the top of the hill, so expect a nice hike. (I guess there is also a bus that goes there, but I did not take it). It took me roughly 20 minutes to walk there from cathedral. The views are superb.

Date of experience: May 2024
1  Thank SiberianEmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2024 via mobile

Take a tour bus up there and spend 20mins with your thoughts. Oh, and it looks spectacular with great views of the city. A must do in bratislava.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank BacardiMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

We took the trip up via taxi (and back down by foot). The memorial itself is beautifully done and is very nice to walk around whilst taking in history - or paying respects.

To couple with the history around, the views over the city are equally amazing so well worth the trip.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank gambrell95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Situated at the top of a hill with views of the city, this can be quite a climb on foot. Suggest taking a taxi and then climbing down.

A wide expanse of a place with an impressive column at the heart of it. It was very quiet when we visited and the place felt somber and peaceful.

You can get views of the Bratislava castle on one side and the rest of city from the other end.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Tushar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

A really nice piece of history, at the beginning I didn't want to go but at the end that I had nothing better to do we went and it was actually worth all that walking.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Kledis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews