We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gluten free find in Budapest”
Review of Drop Restaurant

Drop Restaurant
Ranked #211 of 3,549 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Description: Drop from the morning to the evening will serve you great service and happy smiles, yes all day long. From 8 in the morning, we are ready to welcome our guests with the breakfast. The kitchen is 100% gluten free, ready to prepare ham and eggs, scrambled eggs, English breakfast, pancakes, soy milk, lactose free milk. The full kitchen open at 11.30am.A la carte menu with great gluten free burgers, salads, pasta, main courses with duck, beef, chicken. All is done with fresh ingredients and love. From 11.30am until 3pm, Monday to Friday we serve also the daily menu for 1290 Ft.
Restaurant details
Description: Drop from the morning to the evening will serve you great service and happy smiles, yes all day long. From 8 in the morning, we are ready to welcome our guests with the breakfast. The kitchen is 100% gluten free, ready to prepare ham and eggs, scrambled eggs, English breakfast, pancakes, soy milk, lactose free milk. The full kitchen open at 11.30am.A la carte menu with great gluten free burgers, salads, pasta, main courses with duck, beef, chicken. All is done with fresh ingredients and love. From 11.30am until 3pm, Monday to Friday we serve also the daily menu for 1290 Ft.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We chanced upon this restaurant one afternoon and had a very enjoyable lunch. My husband was so happy that everything on the menu was gluten free as he quite often struggles to find anything suitable when abroad. He had the goulash soup and I had a salad and we both had cake. It seemed quite a popular place. The only criticism was that the staff weren't overly friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjak-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop-Management, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Drop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks for the positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Drop Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were greeted at Drop with a very warm welcome. The waiter was friendly and showed us to our table. He then forgot about us and I had to go up to the till after 20 minutes to ask if we could place our order. We ordered the beef burger and chips and the breaded chicken and mashed potato. The food took 50 minutes to arrive after we ordered. The waiter kept apologising for our wait. This was no fault of his and we knew that there must be a hold up in the kitchen. I don't mind waiting longer in a busy restaurant when the food is tasty when it arrives however when our food arrived in Drop the burger and chicken were luke-warm and the chips and mashed potato were cold. I told the waiter this towards the end of our meal when he asked but also told him that we didn't have time to wait for him to replace them when he offered. We left the restaurant feeling quite disappointed with the food and quite sorry for the waiter who was trying to hold the whole experience together.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diarmuid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop-Management, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Drop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time and writing this feedback. We are sorry for the bad experience with our restaurant.
Usually we are providing the highest quality of service for every guest who visit us .
Unfortunately we are failed in your occasion.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, Drop staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We read about drop before arriving in Budapest and it was definitely worth the trip. We had pasta and breaded chicken and I have to say it was one of the best meals I’ve had since having to adopt a gluten free diet over a year ago. There was so much choice and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely visit again if I’m back in Budapest. Thanks drop! :)

Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop-Management, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Drop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for choosing our restaurant during your recent stay in Budapest!
Your feedback was very valuable for us.
We hope we will see you again soon.
Best Regards, Drop staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Came here after hearing great things about it. Place was a bit difficult to find but after realizing I came the back streets it is located just off the Main Street. Place was spacious and was not overly busy. I was seated straight away and the waitresses were attentive and friendly, with excellent English. I ordered the broth which was nice and filling, with plenty of fresh veg and chicken to start. The beef burger was tasty and filling and the burger bun was delicious, toasted nicely with plenty of lettuce and coleslaw on the side. Fries were great, just enough to be a filling meal but not too much. They offer cocktails, beers and soft drinks as well as a variety of desserts.Starter and main with bottle of water came to just over €18 converted. It was well worth it. Some dishes are also dairy free and it was great as a coeliac to be able to order from a menu without picking through it and reading the fine print over and over. Would definitely revisit and highly recommend to all.

Thank michelleoconnor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop-Management, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Drop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking your time to write review about us. We are really grateful that you shared your opinion with us.
Best Regards, Drop staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This place is totally amazing
To be able to eat anything off the menu is just such a proper treat
Staff were great and service was excellent
The cocktails and the food were superb and consequently the restaurant was packed
We need more places like this!

1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop-Management, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Drop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to serving you.
Hope we see you again soon.
Best Regards, Drop staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drop Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Drop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing