We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Fantastic”
Review of Bock Bistro

Bock Bistro
Ranked #78 of 3,121 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Eat here twice , bith times outstanding , have the Garlic Prawns

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lotsandlotsoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    315
    95
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Safe Hungarian eating.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I really enjoyed this place but my partner was less impressed. There is very little I wouldn't have a bash at eating but my rather squeamish other half was put off by my choice of ox cheeks as a main course. They were fantastic! I loved this place but if you only eat run of the mill foods then this isn't for you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryDollnStinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, U.K
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Look beyond the food”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We sat by the window: the window blinds were caked with dirt aned dust. I Indicated this to waiter ( I wiped a dirty finger from the blind on his napkin and we said we hoped the kitchen was not on the same level of cleanliness: a brief smile on his part was as if to say 'what does that matter' and with no comment or apology): also when we left mentioned same to another waiter. Again he showed no interest whatsoever... O.K, the place has a reputation, but look beyond that. No-one paying any price, let alone these inflated prices, should expect dirt on the menu. Would not recommend or go to Bock again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheena099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
195 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Hungarian (and int'l) dishes with a (not so) little twist!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The chef keeps on modifying all dishes he meets in every parcel, but the taste remains the same. He is serving enormous dishes after the excellent pork fat and fresh bread served with some hot green chilli and red onions.
An excellent dining experience with a nice offer of Hungarian wines.
One of the best restaurant in the Hungarian capital, reservation is highly recomennded!
Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Make sure to "Bock" it in Budapest!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Weather you are a business traveller or tourist or just a local, the Bock Bistro (on the ground floor of the 5 star Corinthia Hotel) has become an establishment for eating great food and having excellent wine in Budapest. All the food is absolutely fantastic however the "Okorpofa" (Oxface) and Bock Beefburger really stand out. make sure to make a prior booking if you would like a table as the restaurant is running full house. A big loud of applause for the management and great team!My recommendation is to go for the weekly specials presented on a blackboard or simply ask the waiters about some recommendations/specials as they really know their stuff (fluent in many languages)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bock Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing