We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget other restaurants and pick this one”
Review of Mandragora

Mandragora
Ranked #73 of 3,736 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This restaurant was founded fourteen years ago. We have continously developped during years, always adopting our Guest's needs. At first our palce was operated like a club and we transformed it to a bistro style restaurant step by step whitout loosing the kind and welcoming atmosphere, what makes us very rare in these days. Our goal is if You visit us once, You will partake fascinating hospitality. So next time we can welcome You like a regular guest. We believe that hospitality only worth doing with soul!
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The food was excellent. In one week of vacation in several places in Europe this was the best dinner I had. We tried mangalitza and pork&risotto. For deserts we had chocolate cake and dumplings. Well done chef! The waiters are also pro: smiling and helpful. Lovely place! Do not miss it!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Absolutly a great experience! Food amazing, wine perfect! Service was friendly, helpful and correct. We will be back hopefully soon!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank pieterriddet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This is down a little residential street on the Buda side of the river. We had a table on the terrace, which was really pretty.
The sevice was fantastic, our waiter Kornel was very knowledgeable about the ingredients, where the different wines came from, which wines to have with which dish. He even smiled very politely and didn't laugh at our terrible attempts at speaking Hungrian.
The food was well cooked and the relatively small menu has something to suit most tastes.
I had a fabulous lamb consomme to start followed by lamb shoulder with deep fried gnocchi (so good!) and pumpkin puree. My partner had a platter of local cheeses, it was really really good. I've never had cheese as a starter but I highly recommend it!
It was very well executed, my only criticism is that the lamb would have been nice served with some jus or a sauce to compliment it.
For dessert I had a chocolate fondant which is not easy to get right....it was perfect, gooey in the middle served with delicious vanilla ice-cream
My partner had chocolate cake, which was light and very very tasty.
Overall it was a really well thought out menu, cooked very well and served by some of the nicest staff I've ever met. Excellent!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ondinel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The great food at Mandragora made us "supper recidivists". Although we had only four days in Budapest we dined there twice. We had the Transylvanian Eggplant Cream and the Grill Goat Cheese as starters followed by Hungarian Paprika Potatoes, the Lamb Shoulder with Gnocchis, the Crispy Chicken Breast and a Grey Cattle Sirloin with grilled vegetables - mouthwatering again. But be sure to leave some space for the deserts, because they are marvelous. We chose the Hungarian Cottage Cheese Dumbling and the Chocolate Souffle: simply divine!!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with the quality and value of the dishes! A great example of traditional Hungarian cuisine. Lovely staff!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Aldie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandragora also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mandragora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing