We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and convenient...ummm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The hotel architecture is no doubt like an art; impressive and elegant. Imagining having your breakfast at the 17th century palace looking dining hall. Great lobby, rooms in the older wing are generally nice.

Great location too. Hop-on/off tour bus and tram stop are just right in front the hotel, restaurants, bars, fast food, grocery stores, etc are nearby. Subway just 3 min walk away, Keleti train station (that one can go to Slovakia or Austria) is about 15-20 walk.It's quite centrally located if you enjoy walking round the city that cover most famous spots (Parliament House, Heroes square, Museums, Market Hall, St. Stephen's Basilica, etc).

The staff in general were not that helpful or knowledgeable. Eg. waiters at breakfast usually won't pour your coffee until you asked for it. Or you asked for certain items in your bill to be summarised and you get a straight and unquestionable "NO" (yes, it can be done, and it was eventually done). So, if you have any issue (eg. the taps in the room are not working, etc) getting to the manager level would get your problem solved quicker. I was there for 3 weeks and the staff get friendlier when they started to see you often.

Rooms in the older wing (where the lobby and New York cafe are) are better. Rooms facing the main road are brighter and have a better view but definitely noisy. Definitely not meant for light sleepers. I won't recommend the newer wing unless you are one who won't care for a view and prefer quietness.

Overall, it is slightly above average and for the location and convenience, I would still consider coming back.

Room Tip: Great view in front with noise but the quieter ones with almost no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PH983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest PH983,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Budapest.
We informed our F&B manager about your considerations and he will share your comments with the team to improve our services. Our staff is very friendly and helpful as many very positive comments on TripAdvisor document. We will check what we can do to improve our service quality further.

It will be our great pleasure to welcoming you to Budapest soon again.

Kind regards, from Budapest the pearl of the Danube,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We spent three nights at the Boscolo Budapest Hotel to extend our two cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest. The hotel was amazing in its architecture and appearance. Everything was incredibly elegant. The lobby was spectacular, with a four story atrium and skylight. Sometimes with the common areas so nice, the room are a little spars, but that was not the case at the Boscolo. The rooms were just as elegant at the lobby. The bathroom was huge. Our room, which was one of the smaller rooms, had two sinks, a tub and a walk-in shower. The entire bathroom was covered in marble.

The breakfast that cam with our room was very good.

The only "minor" complaint that I have with the Boscolo is that they charged for everything above the room. TV show, movies, drinks, everything was extra. It felt like they always had their hand out for a little more money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinville_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest Woodinville_Wally,,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of the room, the breakfast quality and the elegantly furnished room. We check on regular bassis the offers and prices of our competitors and believe that we offer similar complimentary services.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The Boscolo is a beautiful hotel and restored to almost perfect condition. The lobby and rooms are absolutely beautiful. The location is a little out of the center of town but has easy access to the tram.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank OhioRetiredtoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest OhioRetiredtoTravel,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your excellent feedback about the beautiy of the hotel. We consider the Hotel a location for itself as the Boscolo Budapest is the home for the world famous New York Cafe.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

There's no denying that the Boscolo is an impressive hotel from a physical standpoint. Added to that, its location on the edge of the Jewish Quarter and within a stone's throw of the metro and trams, if you can get this hotel at a half-decent price, this should be a no-brainer.

However, a couple of things let this hotel down.

For an Autograph hotel, you'd expect outstanding service, but this was not the case. The service staff at breakfast were inattentive and uninterested. They needed prompting to serve us coffee and seemed put-out to do so.

The bar wasn't much better. We arrived late on the first night and despite being assured at front desk that the bar was open for drinks and snacks until 1am, the former was begrudgingly supplied and the latter non-existent.

On a second visit, for so-called Happy Hour promising a free sandwich selection, the service was far from happy and again we were begrudgingly served a couple of small sandwiches after waiting a considerable amount of time.

I'm not going to make too much of a point of our flannels being taken away and not replaced for one of the days, but the covering (possibly a shower cap) that had been placed over the smoke alarm in our room was a big concern.

This could have been a great stay, but ended up being far too average.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Guest Lee H,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We apologize very much for the inconvenience with our F&B services, regarding the breakfast service and the bar service. We have informed our F&B manger to correct and improve with his team our service quality. Our Executive Housekeeper was informed about your considerations. We are very sorry again and glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and unique ambience of the former New York Palace.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped
in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has to be one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited, the staff are friendly and helpful and the building is stunning.

The rooms are a very good size and they are well presented, the bathroom is a generous size.

The hotel pool is a little small but the spa area makes up for that, to be honest when your staying in a city with so many Spa's why would need the hotels pool anyway.

I would recommend this hotel and will hopefully return soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Somegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest Somegood,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are honoured with your evaluation and are very pleased about your feedback regarding our friendly staff, the beauty and ambience of the New York Palace and the comfortable rooms. We will share your feedback with pleasure among the staff.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,989 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,521 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €114 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing