We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,914)
Filter reviews
3,914 results
Traveller rating
2,763
781
234
76
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,763
781
234
76
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel boscolo hotel autograph collection ny cafe upgraded to a junior suite steam room the river five star hotel breakfast is served spa facilities sparkling wine hop on hop reception area long weekend jewish quarter breakfast room metro station
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 3,914 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Our reservation was for exclusive room with balcony for three nights There was one reservation for first night and another for the last two due to issues booking on line.All rooms were prepaidThis really created an issue at check in and we were told no exclusive rooms with balconies were available We were upgraded to suite and told there would be no upcharge At check out we were charged for the upgrade The suite was nice but we wanted the balcony Maybe it was a blessing as we were told balcony rooms were usually requested by smokers even though there was a no smoking policy (we are non smokers)
The breakfast was the worst we have had at any Boscolo as egg station was not with buffet but in kitchen and took an excessive amount of time to get to get an order plus with the language barrier difficult to order
The restaurant and bar areas are not set for hotel guest but are set up to cater to walkin traffic Nothing special for hotel guest and slow service
There is no concerige full time and you are dealing with the desk clerks most of the time In other Boscolos the concerige desk was separate from checkin and we got much better service
When in Budapest the Marriott by the river is a much better choice than this Boscolo

Room Tip: Suites are large
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlpgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Guest jlpgolfer,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest as a loyal Gold Marrriott Rewards Status member and your review on Tripadvisor. We apologize for any misunderstanding. Your reservation was for an Exclusive room and we upgraded you
on a complimentary basis due to your status to a Junior suite. We would have had Exclusive rooms available if you wished. Guests are entitled to smoke on the balconies, however you confirmed to us you are a non smoker. Our breakfast is usually very appreciated by our guests we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our offer and forwarded your comments to our F&B Manager. We have reserved constantly for our hotel guests an area in the New York Cafe, in order to avoid that hotel guests have to wait for a table as the New York Cafe is very busy every day. We are glad to confirm that we offer 16 hours concierge service. We thank you for your valuable time to inform us about your service experience and are looking forward to welcoming you to Budapest either at the Marriott or Boscolo Budapest soon again. Kind regards, Oliver Hutten General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

What a fantastic place to stay. The reception area and New York Cafe have to be experienced. Photos do not do it justice. Our room was clean and comfortable and in the newer wing accessed by the 'Silver lifts'. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked a quiet courtyard. Attention to detail was excellent with pure down duvet and pillows, Padded leather headboard and even a menu for pillow choices. The bed was very comfortable.Complementary bottled water provided. The bathroom was large with a loo and bidet, wash basin and bath/shower. The only criticism is that the bath was difficult to access as half of it was encased behind an immovable glass shower screen and the bath was set in a frame that meant there was a 25cm wide sill to get over that was about 60 cm from the floor. You couldn't sit on the edge and swing your legs around to get in or out because of the glass shower screen. Luckily we were both agile and coped with it but I guess we would have been moved if it had been a problem. Strangely, housekeeping came to the room every evening at about 6pm, asking if we needed more towels? One time they knocked but then came in even though I had asked who was there. I was undressed at the time and didn't appreciate the intrusion. Lesson = leave the DO NOT DISTURB on the door when you are in it.
Breakfast was excellent with pancakes and maple syrup as well as a huge selection including smoked salmon, sparkling wine and everything else you could wish for. The setting in the New York Cafe is stunning. Staff couldn't do enough for you, spoke very good English and were friendly. Ended up eating 3 evening meals in the New York Cafe, which were all good and reasonably priced.
Hotel in a great location for exploring the city. 30 minutes walk to Buda Castle District and 15 minutes to Pest city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Manager at New York Palace Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest ’Marion J',

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about your recent stay at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, your comments are very much valued for us.

I am very happy to read that you were really satisfied with our excellent service, the room, the breakfast, the very friendly staff, although I would like to kindly apologize for the disturbance of the Housekeeping Colleague, I will personally forward your comments to the Housekeeping Manager to be aware of the happened situation and make sure we will improve our service.

Do not miss to come back to Boscolo Budapest on the 16-17th of July when the iconic Chain Bridge will again feature the Red Bull Air Race!

I really hope that we will welcome you soon again in Boscolo Budapest to make your next stay a truly memorable one!

Kind regards,
Nora Kemeny – PR&Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

After reading all the bad comments regarding this hotel, I came with a certain apprehension.
After 3 days over there I can only say that :
1- staff is polite and dedicated.
2- the room is clean and really nice
3- the breakfast (buffet) is correct nothing special about it.
4- the hotel is hosting apparently the most beautiful café in the world "the New York café" and this is definitely a plus ..
5- the architecture and decoration of the hotel is just splendid ...

Well in the end the location of the hotel is correct. And I spend a great time over there.
Voila ... enjoy your stay if you have to spend some time in this premises.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Philippe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Manager at New York Palace Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest ’Philippe R',

Thank you so much for your nice comments about your recent stay at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, your comments are very much valued for us.

I am very happy to read that we did meet your expectations and you had a great time with us and you were satisfied with the polite staff, the cleanliness of the room, and you really liked the New York Café, the architecture and the building. Merci beaucoup for all your comments.

Do not miss to come back to Boscolo Budapest on the 16-17th of July when the iconic Chain Bridge will again feature the Red Bull Air Race!

I really hope that we will welcome you soon again in Boscolo Budapest to make your next stay a truly memorable one!

Kind regards,
Nora Kemeny – PR&Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

If you want the feel of Paris, but to experience a country that feels new to tourism, I recommend the Boscolo. From the minute you enter the spectacular lobby, and inhale the wonderful perfume that is inherent within, you enter a world of charm and history.

The staff appear hardworking but extremely gracious and helpful. I made a mistake in my long reservation (we were to be there a little over a week), but I was assisted with fixing the error, and for some wonderful reason, it led to an upgrade.

We took the night cruise recommended by the Concierge, and we enjoyed a nighttime cruise with spectacular views of architecture, history and lights - in the exact venue we wanted (i.e. no buffet).

The room was large and the windows were so wonderful - about 20 feet high. We could hear the noise of the street with the windows open, and pure silence with them closed. The bathroom was marble, double sink and large jacuzzi tub and luxury shower.

The only odd thing was that there was a mirror from the hall entry into the main part of the suite where you could see right into the bathroom. Some accomodation really should be provided if you do not want to see your room mate showering... we travelled with our teenage daughter and this caused a lot of manouvering for her comfort in the room.. which we managed, but easily have been overcome with blinds in the bathroom or something.
I only mention this to be fair, but I actually loved the hotel and the service.

Room Tip: Ask if the bathroom has a window to the hall... if you dont want this amenity :)
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilBlur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Manager at New York Palace Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest ’LilBlur',

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, your comments are very much valued for us.

I am very happy to read that you were very satisfied with our services, the helpful staff and you really liked the charm and history of the hotel. It is a great pleasure to know that you did enjoy a lot what our Concierge has suggested you to do while in Budapest. I would like to apologize for the little issues you had, but it is heartwarming to see that you loved our hotel and our services.

Do not miss to come back to Boscolo Budapest on the 16-17th of July when the iconic Chain Bridge will again feature the Red Bull Air Race!

I really hope that we will welcome you soon again in Boscolo Budapest to make your next stay a truly memorable one!

Kind regards,
Nora Kemeny – PR&Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Amazing few days in Boscolo, with fantastic surroundings in historical building, great service, and even a free upgrade. Highly recommended!

Lots of nice bars and restaurants in immediate walking distance

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kehovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Manager at New York Palace Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest ’kehovda',

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about your recent stay at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, your comments are very much valued for us.

I am very happy to read that you really had an amazing time here with us and you were really satisfied with our services, the building and the location as well.

Do not miss to come back to Boscolo Budapest on the 16-17th of July when the iconic Chain Bridge will again feature the Red Bull Air Race!

I really hope that we will welcome you soon again in Boscolo Budapest to make your next stay a truly memorable one!

Kind regards,
Nora Kemeny – PR&Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews