We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the New York Palace on 14 - 16 October and had a very nice break. We'd paid for the room (excluding breakfast) in advance and turned up on the Friday at about 2pm. The staff checked to see if our room was ready, and when hey were iformed it wasn't put us into another room on the 2nd floor which they said was even nicer.

The room was beautiful - there was lots of space and a lovely large bath in the bathroom. I had no problem with the temperature of the room, but could hear traffic outside. However it wasn't loud enough to bother us. The bed was amazingly comfortable and gave us an awesome night's sleep.

Location wise the hotel is right next to a metro stop, and trams 4 and 6 go past the hotel north to south to connect up to another metro line.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (20 euros, which seemed a bit pricey for us, though you could eat off the a la carte menu). We did eat in the New York cafe and had a very nice meal of pork/chicken breast supreme with lovely local beers (and got 10% off with the Budapest card - see below). Next time we'd like to have a drink in the cigar bar.

We spent a time in the spa downstairs which included a sauna and steam room, small exercise pool with jacuzzi jets and a gym area.

Overall a lovely stay in the hotel and we'd definitely stay there again. Top tip: buy a Budapest card at the airport when you arrive - for 48/72 hours you get free public transport and discounts off many attractions/restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethsterRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,053 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel was booked for a business trip and I wish I had more time to spend in it! The hotel is beautiful, the staff really professional and helpful. My room was stunning (7th floor) with a bath in the middle! but my colleague's room was even more stunning (2nd floor), with a massive entrance hall, giant bedroom and huge bathroom. I did not use the restaurant though. I am planning to go back to Budapest and will not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Boscolo has been beautifully restored and once you walk into the lobby you realise you are entering a very special place. Look up and the glass canopy covers the ceiling, with beautiful orante columns circulating the huge central space. The receptionist aea is very modern and efficiently serviced.The area is not the best in Budapest but is within 10 minutes to everything in the city.

The room I had was huge and unusual on the 2nd floor. The entrance, leather lined walls with a view of the bathroom (Yes!), is huge, and leads into the bedroom area which is large and roomy with big french windows and eclectic Italian heavy furniture. The star is the humungous all white marble bathroom which must be one of the best this side of the Atlantic.

There are other treats as well. The bar is cosy, and well serviced by a great bartender Norbert, as is the amazing Cafe with its fin de siecle decore with rich guilded columns and painted murals.

Save your money and stay at the Boscolo!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the Junior Suites are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed at BH for a business trip for 5 days. Overall my experience is that it is 1 - not worth a penny spent, 2- never for my own expense !
Now, more details
Arrival: the reception is a designer dream (clerks are staying at a round table with laptops - I even see how it was sold to the hotel "round table makes the conversation more friendly!) but I think I would prefer a normal desk - first I do not want to see what the clerk is doing in his pc when he is checking me in/out, secondly it is better when the mess they have on the tables is hidden by the desk and not shown to the world. (my card was almost mixed with another men's one !).
Now to the room: I was put into a new wing and the room was very big but absolutely faceless. The best designer thing was the bathroom - in fact there is no bathROOM there is a bath almost in front of the entrance door without any cover or door or smth - so if you are taking a shower and a floor maid wants to check the minibar she will check much more !!!;) and there is no escape !!! The shower in itself is a concept and you cannot be showering in the concept ! you have a rain shower from the ceiling (it is really rain - you get a drop by drop and you are not in water, you are wet and as there is no closed space you get cold soon. Well you can use a super tube which is hardly 1 meter long and is similar o what they use to wash in Thai 1 star bungalows ... So - nightmare ! Wish to be back home o get a warm shower after these days !
Room (more) - very hot and ventilation is poor, if you open the window it becomes noisy like he'll ! More nice things - I used minibar and they never stocked it up after. They have atea cattle but you do not have a plain water except for a tap one. No hotel directory and the one on tv says just that it is the best hotel :)
Restaurant and bar is ok but I wish to have some choice in five-star venue !
Location is mediocre - other big brands have better.
Some more fun - I was asking for an iron for three (!) days and every day they old me that all irons are occupied, I asked how can I get my suit pressed and they said that I can give it to them at 8 am and get it back same day by 9 pm - what should I wear than ? A swimming dress ?
One day they simply forgot to clean the room ...

So, I can continue with all that but my recommendation will be - if you have a choice make it right, do not choose this funny place !

Room Tip: Check some other place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our room was one of the nicest in Europe. There was no view and the location of the hotel is away from the tourist sites which is not a problem if you know the tram/metro system. However, we were not staying at the New York Palace as tourists but as a couple to get away from it all and for this is was perfect. In fact, it was hard to leave the room and there was absolutely no reason to leave the hotel. The Cigar Bar and Cafe are wonderful. My only complaint is the "funky" registration area. I suppose it is meant to appear modern, but comes across messy and disorganized. Keep the beautiful decor and put the computers, files, printers, and many, many papers behind a counter!

Room Tip: Pay in advance and use the extra money to upgrade. It is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,548 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,989 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,521 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €114 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing