We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the center, very friendly”
Review of Csaszar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Csaszar Hotel
Ranked #187 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 21 January 2017

It is in a very nice area, close to the center, just 15 minutes walk over the bridge. Staff is very friendly. We asked for a quiet rooms and the confirmed them even before our arrival. There is a hot outdoor pool free of charge. We are not fussy people so breakfast was nice for us there was plenty of things to choose. I can recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good sleep, request the room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klarusskka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

I have visited this hotel in January 2017 with my wife and we expected some wellness friendly environment. However, it was really terrible. Small room, useless bathroom with no space, non functional door and it was even dirty. Breakfast consists of bread, meat pie and salami. There are basically no other choices. We had to switch our room two times. It was -12 degrees outside and in our room was really cold. In the second room was our room separated from the other one with door! Can you imagine that noise at 3am and afterwards our Hungarian neighbors started to smoke! Of course through the door separating our room and theirs, it went inside! We tried Veli Bej spa and we had to wait for an hour to get inside, as the spa has limited capacity. The hotel is however quite well situated. To sum up: I have never written a review on anything, but this was so terrible and it ruined my holiday that I must let you know! Never ever again..

Room Tip: Do not take rooms downstairs - you will be placed in a cellar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank exfjanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Nice and ideal accommodation for who is looking for cheaper living room in Budapest. Very very tasty breakfast and the swimmning pool is amazing! If you are looking for a hotel room just to sleep over night and eat som good food, this is your the best option !!

Room Tip: Worth rooms are directed to swimming pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

If you are fanatic about Spa, this hotel is very convenient for its location, very close to Luckacs Baths and Veli Bej Baths in Budapest. It is simple and cheap. It is very good to have a bath and than sleep a while in the narrow but clean rooms at hotel. It is also very well connection by bus, tram or metro to the city center. I enjoyed very much also swim in the big Swiming pool at winter time.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank silapipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

You just want a bed, a place to sleep ? This is the hotel to go in Budapest !
You will find rooms for two at less than 35 Euro. It is clean, good beds, staff is friendly, but nothing fancy. What one really needs is there, what you might expect to find in a hotel, might not be available.
But staying there is an experience, I loved it. The place gives you the feel of socialist times, including the matroeshka's serving the breakfast. You will find some bread rolls, an egg, cheese and sausage, marmalade, thea and coffee, period.
The place used to be (and still is) some kind of a swimming and waterpolo school. Olympic champions, among them Krisztina Egerszegi, were trained here. Result: 18th century building, no garden, but a huge 50 meter Olympic pool in the back yard, with youngsters training all day, in winter, -5°C air tempearture, 28°C hot spring water temperature. Just divine !!!
Down the street at 150 meter, the Lukas termal hot spa, similar to Geller in downtown Budapest, but a lot cheaper, not so fancy but as good as the big names when it comes to just having a bath... Remembered me the opening scene of THE UNBEARABLE LIGHTNESS OF BEING, the movie on May 1968 Prague on the evening of the Russian tanks rolling in.
A lesson in history, a must go if you want to experience how living in a Sovjet influenced country must have been like...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Papillon
#133 of 336 in Budapest
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belvedere Hotel
#93 of 336 in Budapest
415 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#125 of 336 in Budapest
377 reviews
Zugló
Lion's Garden Hotel
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 336 in Budapest
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Csaszar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Csaszar Hotel

Address: Frankel Leo ut 35, Budapest 1023, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €35 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Csaszar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Csaszar is located in the heart of Budapest near the river Danube, just 500 meters from Margit Bridge. It can be reached easily with public transport day and night. The Hotel is in the same building with the Komjadi-Csaszar Public swimming pool, our guests can enjoy the 50 meter pool. Hotel Csaszar has rooms with 2 and 4 beds, and one apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Csaszar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Csaszar Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing