We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
41
95
64
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
95
64
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssized poolbuilding workthermal spatram stationnice hotelcomfortable staythe hotel staffcity centrepoolsspas
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I have visited this hotel in January 2017 with my wife and we expected some wellness friendly environment. However, it was really terrible. Small room, useless bathroom with no space, non functional door and it was even dirty. Breakfast consists of bread, meat pie and salami. There are basically no other choices. We had to switch our room two times. It was -12 degrees outside and in our room was really cold. In the second room was our room separated from the other one with door! Can you imagine that noise at 3am and afterwards our Hungarian neighbors started to smoke! Of course through the door separating our room and theirs, it went inside! We tried Veli Bej spa and we had to wait for an hour to get inside, as the spa has limited capacity. The hotel is however quite well situated. To sum up: I have never written a review on anything, but this was so terrible and it ruined my holiday that I must let you know! Never ever again..

Room Tip: Do not take rooms downstairs - you will be placed in a cellar
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank exfjanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Nice and ideal accommodation for who is looking for cheaper living room in Budapest. Very very tasty breakfast and the swimmning pool is amazing! If you are looking for a hotel room just to sleep over night and eat som good food, this is your the best option !!

Room Tip: Worth rooms are directed to swimming pool :)
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

If you are fanatic about Spa, this hotel is very convenient for its location, very close to Luckacs Baths and Veli Bej Baths in Budapest. It is simple and cheap. It is very good to have a bath and than sleep a while in the narrow but clean rooms at hotel. It is also very well connection by bus, tram or metro to the city center. I enjoyed very much also swim in the big Swiming pool at winter time.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank silapipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

You just want a bed, a place to sleep ? This is the hotel to go in Budapest !
You will find rooms for two at less than 35 Euro. It is clean, good beds, staff is friendly, but nothing fancy. What one really needs is there, what you might expect to find in a hotel, might not be available.
But staying there is an experience, I loved it. The place gives you the feel of socialist times, including the matroeshka's serving the breakfast. You will find some bread rolls, an egg, cheese and sausage, marmalade, thea and coffee, period.
The place used to be (and still is) some kind of a swimming and waterpolo school. Olympic champions, among them Krisztina Egerszegi, were trained here. Result: 18th century building, no garden, but a huge 50 meter Olympic pool in the back yard, with youngsters training all day, in winter, -5°C air tempearture, 28°C hot spring water temperature. Just divine !!!
Down the street at 150 meter, the Lukas termal hot spa, similar to Geller in downtown Budapest, but a lot cheaper, not so fancy but as good as the big names when it comes to just having a bath... Remembered me the opening scene of THE UNBEARABLE LIGHTNESS OF BEING, the movie on May 1968 Prague on the evening of the Russian tanks rolling in.
A lesson in history, a must go if you want to experience how living in a Sovjet influenced country must have been like...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

They initially gave me room 212 with a view on the street. Several tramlines pass there every 5 minutes starting 4am. VERY NOISY! Next day they offered to move me to a room facing the pool (back). They proposed room 7, but showed me room 2 which is supposed to be identical cause room 7 still occupied and needed cleaning. Room 2 nice and in good condition. When I moved to room 7, not so nice and in bad condition. Noisy facing the pool as well. It is a public pool with water-polo training in the afternoons until about 9pm. They continuously shoot balls against a flat panel so repetitive banging noise. Btw there are no lounge chairs at the pool so you have to put a towel on the concrete floor or so. Both rooms 212 and 7 were in pretty bad condition and dirty. In room 212 there was garbage from the previous occupant left in the closet. Cleaning staff would not even pick up empty water bottles and scrap paper left on the floor of my room. Air conditioning turns on but very weak and does not cool properly. There was mould in the bathrooms as well. Breakfast okay but several bread rolls were old and falling to crumbs. Fruits clearly not fresh either. No safe in rooms, you give your stuff to the reception staff and they put it in a paper envelope stapled shut with a number coupon. You get a copy of the coupon and the envelope goes in locked cabinet or something. Located on the Buda side, and takes about 30 minutes by public transport to get to the Pest centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, a bit quieter than street side if you don't mind water polo training.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ziad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews