We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely small rooms, terrible walls and even cold”
Review of Csaszar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Csaszar Hotel
Ranked #189 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I have visited this hotel in January 2017 with my wife and we expected some wellness friendly environment. However, it was really terrible. Small room, useless bathroom with no space, non functional door and it was even dirty. Breakfast consists of bread, meat pie and salami. There are basically no other choices. We had to switch our room two times. It was -12 degrees outside and in our room was really cold. In the second room was our room separated from the other one with door! Can you imagine that noise at 3am and afterwards our Hungarian neighbors started to smoke! Of course through the door separating our room and theirs, it went inside! We tried Veli Bej spa and we had to wait for an hour to get inside, as the spa has limited capacity. The hotel is however quite well situated. To sum up: I have never written a review on anything, but this was so terrible and it ruined my holiday that I must let you know! Never ever again..

Room Tip: Do not take rooms downstairs - you will be placed in a cellar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank exfjanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016

Nice and ideal accommodation for who is looking for cheaper living room in Budapest. Very very tasty breakfast and the swimmning pool is amazing! If you are looking for a hotel room just to sleep over night and eat som good food, this is your the best option !!

Room Tip: Worth rooms are directed to swimming pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

If you are fanatic about Spa, this hotel is very convenient for its location, very close to Luckacs Baths and Veli Bej Baths in Budapest. It is simple and cheap. It is very good to have a bath and than sleep a while in the narrow but clean rooms at hotel. It is also very well connection by bus, tram or metro to the city center. I enjoyed very much also swim in the big Swiming pool at winter time.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank silapipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

You just want a bed, a place to sleep ? This is the hotel to go in Budapest !
You will find rooms for two at less than 35 Euro. It is clean, good beds, staff is friendly, but nothing fancy. What one really needs is there, what you might expect to find in a hotel, might not be available.
But staying there is an experience, I loved it. The place gives you the feel of socialist times, including the matroeshka's serving the breakfast. You will find some bread rolls, an egg, cheese and sausage, marmalade, thea and coffee, period.
The place used to be (and still is) some kind of a swimming and waterpolo school. Olympic champions, among them Krisztina Egerszegi, were trained here. Result: 18th century building, no garden, but a huge 50 meter Olympic pool in the back yard, with youngsters training all day, in winter, -5°C air tempearture, 28°C hot spring water temperature. Just divine !!!
Down the street at 150 meter, the Lukas termal hot spa, similar to Geller in downtown Budapest, but a lot cheaper, not so fancy but as good as the big names when it comes to just having a bath... Remembered me the opening scene of THE UNBEARABLE LIGHTNESS OF BEING, the movie on May 1968 Prague on the evening of the Russian tanks rolling in.
A lesson in history, a must go if you want to experience how living in a Sovjet influenced country must have been like...

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

They initially gave me room 212 with a view on the street. Several tramlines pass there every 5 minutes starting 4am. VERY NOISY! Next day they offered to move me to a room facing the pool (back). They proposed room 7, but showed me room 2 which is supposed to be identical cause room 7 still occupied and needed cleaning. Room 2 nice and in good condition. When I moved to room 7, not so nice and in bad condition. Noisy facing the pool as well. It is a public pool with water-polo training in the afternoons until about 9pm. They continuously shoot balls against a flat panel so repetitive banging noise. Btw there are no lounge chairs at the pool so you have to put a towel on the concrete floor or so. Both rooms 212 and 7 were in pretty bad condition and dirty. In room 212 there was garbage from the previous occupant left in the closet. Cleaning staff would not even pick up empty water bottles and scrap paper left on the floor of my room. Air conditioning turns on but very weak and does not cool properly. There was mould in the bathrooms as well. Breakfast okay but several bread rolls were old and falling to crumbs. Fruits clearly not fresh either. No safe in rooms, you give your stuff to the reception staff and they put it in a paper envelope stapled shut with a number coupon. You get a copy of the coupon and the envelope goes in locked cabinet or something. Located on the Buda side, and takes about 30 minutes by public transport to get to the Pest centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, a bit quieter than street side if you don't mind water polo trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ziad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Papillon
#135 of 335 in Budapest
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belvedere Hotel
#91 of 335 in Budapest
414 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#124 of 335 in Budapest
377 reviews
Zugló
Lion's Garden Hotel
Lion's Garden Hotel
#79 of 335 in Budapest
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Csaszar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Csaszar Hotel

Address: Frankel Leo ut 35, Budapest 1023, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €35 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Csaszar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Csaszar is located in the heart of Budapest near the river Danube, just 500 meters from Margit Bridge. It can be reached easily with public transport day and night. The Hotel is in the same building with the Komjadi-Csaszar Public swimming pool, our guests can enjoy the 50 meter pool. Hotel Csaszar has rooms with 2 and 4 beds, and one apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Csaszar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Csaszar Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing