We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel. No problems!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Ranked #67 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good central hotel. No problems!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. On arrival the staff were very efficient and checking in was swift. The room we had on the 4th floor was clean and cosy. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower, one of the best I've every experienced. We paid for breakfast in advance saving 20% for the three nights. Following an afternoon sightseeing we decided to have a rest before venturing out for dinner. Needed extra pillows and a call to reception meant within minutes our extra pillows arrived. This hotel appears to be in a good area of Budapest however the nearby metro does have it's odd homeless person hanging around but no different to other cities. The following morning I was very impressed with the large selection at breakfast. A good selection of breads and cold buffet as well as a few hot items available. Cereals, pastries and a selection of juice also available. Well done hotel Erzsebet. I would recommend you to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labrador5233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear labrador5233!

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erzsébet City Center for your stay in Budapest and for taking the time to write a review. It is so nice of you to say that you would recommend our hotel to anyone, we are so happy to read this.
I am glad, that you were satisfied with the cleanness, the size and the shower of your room, the breakfast price and our staff, the speed of the checking in and the fast arrival of the extra pillows. I am sorry about the homeless person in the metro, we hope that this situation can change in Budapest. It is kind of you to write how you were impressed by the large selection of the breakfast, I hope you had a great meal and a great stay, we would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    944
    254
    45
    12
See reviews for
274
831
110
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cowbridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is clean and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and speak very good english.It is excellent value and you are advised to purchase breakfast package on arrival.Good choice on breakfast buffet. Rooms are a little small but adequate for short stays. The position of hotel is excellent right in the centre of Budapest on Pest side.Surrounded by cafes and restaurants.Convenient for all the tourist sites. Hotel will arrange taxis at a reasonable price.Found them to be efficient.Can be a little noisy on front of hotel but no more than any busy city centre.Well recommended for a budget stay - it fulfilled all our needs for an excellent visit.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guyfm!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us so high rating. I am happy that you found our hotel excellent value, clean and welcoming. The breakfest buffet was a great choice, it is really worth to try. I hope you could visit a lot of sights in Budapest, thanks for the central location of the hotel most of the sights are within walking distance, and while walking in the city you can find a lot of nice places, cafes, restaurants and shopping facilities.
I hope you will visit Hotel Erzsébet City Center again.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versoix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

the hotel entrance is nice, but the rest is all pretty average.

The room was clean, if a little small. But then again equiped well enough, for the amount of time I spent in there.
The restaurant was rather disappointing, or at least the choice of food offered was. What was on offer, was of average quality.
The staff were in all very friendly.
A good point for the hotel, it is situated close to all places to visit, and the town center.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear JC-Delage!

Thank you for writing a review, we can learn from each of our guests’ oppinions. I am glad, that you liked the entrance and the location of Hotel Erzsébet City Center. I am sorry that you found the rest pretty average but I hope that the cleanness of the rooms, the friendly staff and the hotel’s close location in the heart of the city, close to all the sights did compensate you. I hope you could see the most exciting sights of Budapest and that we can welcome you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

A charming,old place, Hotel Queen Elizabeth (of Austria-Hungary) wonderfully re-done, very helpful, polite Staff, clean,comfortable rooms,good breakfast. The location is excellent.
All Staff members speak excellent English. One of the gentlemen,I believe was a Mr.Reli at the front desk was particularly knowledgeable,helpful and made my stay in your hotel truly enjoyable. Also a young bellboy was always polite and helpful. Do not be shy and ask for any kind of information,everybody is there to assist you.
As I understand your hotel is taken over by Danubius. I sincerely hope it will not sink to the low level of the Hotel Gellert, my old time favourite - it stinks, it's filthy, the staff often rude and arrogant. Please stay your old self, thank you for the good times.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palffy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear palffy32!

Thank you very much for sharing your review and for choosing Hotel Erzsébet City Center for your stay in Budapest. I am glad that you liked the charm of our Hotel, and you found the staff polite and helpful, and our rooms comfortable. Our breakfast indeed has a wide choice that suits every taste, and thanks to the location all the sights are really close, even by foot. Thank you very much for the compliment about our staff, they are happy to read such reviews. It is nice from you giving tips to others, I also suggest to our guests to ask for any kind of information, our staff is pleased to help you. Thank you for the encouragment, we try to stay our old self:).
It was nice reading your kind review and for recommending our Hotel to others with your high rating.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Nice hotel with friendly english speaking staff. Two blocks from the subway. Plenty of restuarants and shopping nearby. Decent breakfast for 8E pp.
Hotel was clean and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaBudapest, Sales Representative at Hotel Erzsebet City Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear CherylInMainz!

Thank you so much for rating our hotel this high. I am happy that you liked the English skills of our staff, the location of the hotel and the nearby area. I’m glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our hotel clean. Thank you for choosing Hotel Erzsébet City Center, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Orsolya Stiller
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#57 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzsebet City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzsebet City Center

Property: Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Address: Karolyi utca 11-15, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#62 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erzsebet City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel near Budapest’s fashion street Whether you plan to do some sightseeing, browse the shops or go out for a special meal, Hotel Erzsébet is a great starting point. This modern, atmospheric hotel – occupying a recently pedestrianised street in the city centre - is popular among both business travellers and tourists exploring Budapest. It’s situated in the middle of bustling District 5, which is the capital’s business, commercial and cultural heartland. Váci utca, Budapest’s most famous shopping street, is only a few steps away, and it’s not much further to the Danube Promenade and the legendary Great Market Hall. This neighbourhood is full of sights to see, shops, cafés and excellent restaurants. Numerous buses stop nearby, and the M3, M2 and M4 Metro lines are also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzsebet City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Erzsebet City Budapest
Erzsebet Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing