We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful week-end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

For our 10th wedding anniversary, I surprised my wife with a romantic getaway to Budapest. I chose the Corinthia on the Web, and I could not have made a better choice!

The staff was particularly helpful in booking our room, spa treatments and little amenities that made our stay so very special.

My wife and I were blown away by the magnificent grandeur of this extraordinary hotel, everything was top class.

Room Tip: There is a direct elevator near room 4106 to get to the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am glad to note that you had a great 10th wedding anniversary and your wife and you were blown away by the magnificent grandeur of our hotel and found it extraordinary and top class. I do hope to welcome you back in Budapest again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,014 - 4,018 of 7,305 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were staying in the Hotel Corinthia in the period 15.02.-19.02.2012. and shortly, I agree with most of the existing reviews:

- The hotel itself looks very luxurious both on the outside and in the inside, with great Chinese restaurant (I would recommend Beijing duck, delicious) and a good late-night bar.
- Rooms are more than comfortable and very spacious, decorated with mahogany wood, very soft mattresses and bathroom completely in marble (both with shower and bathtub).
- VALUABLE ADVICE: Definitely upgrade your room to the Executive Room. The difference in price is not great (we paid 41 EUR/night additionally) but you get even fancier room and access to Executive Lounge with free drinks, food (snacks) and soups. And you can have breakfast there too, which is more intimate than the regular brasserie, although the choice of food is way better in the brasserie.
- As for the spa, it was phenomenal, with 15m large pool, couple of saunas, 2 hot tubs and a steam bath. Very clean and luxurious, with free teas and water on the spot. Also, a very nice touch is constant supply of crushed ice just next to sauna, so that you can cool yourself, just like Scandinavians and Russians traditionally do it.
- And finally the staff - very professional, discrete and attending - from the receptionists to managers. Before coming to the hotel we had a several email inquires, which were all responded in couple of hours, by Mr. Kluka and Mr. Kolar (thanks once again for the advices and answers).

If I had to mention anything on the minus side, maybe it would be two minor things: 1. Old fashion CRT TV's in rooms. It's hardly understandable why a great 5 star hotel would not have LCD TV's today. On the other hand - we didn't come either to Budapest or to hotel Corinthia to watch TV, so it wasn't really important to us. 2. It was too hot in the night, so we woke up couple of times. On the other hand, everything else was so perfect, so we just accepted this and slept with the windows open.

All in all highest recommendations from my side. We will probably exclusively visit this hotel each time we come to Budapest.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I will forward your compliments to our staff, managers, Mrs Kollar and Mr.Kluka. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Fantastic hotel, beautiful building, exceptional service, great spa and if you can afford a little extra book an executive room or suite so you can use the executive level as it's a nice comfy area to hang out and they provide free snacks and drinks all day long. Location of this hotel is fine as Budapest isn't so big and and the 4 and 6 Trams are right outside the hotel if you feel lazy. You can get a tourist 24hr ticket for 1550HUF which is about 5 euro and this gives you unlimited travel on tram, metro and bus for 24hrs. We had a look at other 5 star hotels in Budapest from what we saw we definitely made the right decision to stay at the Corinthia Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you have found our hotel excellent and were satisfied with your choice. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding in September 2011. Was blown away by the grandure of this hotel at such a reasonable price. The spa area is a must use! Very well decorated rooms and beautiful lobby. Stay here, you'll be happy with your choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I am glad to read that your stay was perfect in all aspects. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent three nights in Budapest for my girlfriend's Birthday and we picked this hotel based on the impressive photos and reviews. We have stayed in numerous quality hotels around the world and the Corinthia, Budapest is still the very best that we have stayed in.

It is not the rooms or the furnishings that set this apart from others, although they are more than adequate, the specialness at this hotel is the pure grandness of the building and the quality and class of the service, the restaurants and the amenities.

Firstly, you HAVE to go for the Executive Club option. Having your own floor where you can eat and drink whatever you like and relax in comfort is a very nice touch.. my partner absolutely loved the buffet / canopies. It costs a bit more but you can definitely get your money's worth!

Secondly, the spa is just amazing.. make sure you make the time to spend relaxing in this area. We made sure that one day we headed back to the hotel after sightseeing a little bit earlier so we could relax in the spa before going for dinner.

Thirdly, the two restaurants in the hotel are exceptional. The meal we had in the Asian restaurant (Rickshaw) was simply divine (the soups are mouthwatering good and highly recommended).

I like travelling and exploring new places, but perhaps if there was one place I would return to in the future, this would be the one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavialinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with us during your stay and your girlfriend had a fabolous birthday here. Thank you for the special compliments about the Executive Club, Royal Spa and the Rickshaw Restaurant. I do hope that our hotel and city will be the one where you will return.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,873 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €126 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing